This topic aims to provide a comprehensive understanding of client deauthentication during staggered upgrades of access points in a wireless network.
When access points (APs) of a wireless network are upgraded in a staggered manner, the clients connected to those APs are moved to other APs. During this period, clients that are unaware of an ongoing upgrade may try to reassociate with the same AP. Similarly, new clients may also try to join the AP. To avoid this scenario, Cisco IOS XE Dublin 17.11.1 introduces the option to not deauthenticate clients connected to the APs that are selected for the upgrade. Using the `no ap upgrade staggered client-deauth` command, you can stop deauthenticating clients before the AP performs an upgrade.
Client deauthentication affects both the 802.11v clients and non-802.11v clients. When client steering is enabled, 802.11v clients receive Basic Set Service (BSS) transition frames that guide them to roam. If client steering is disabled and deauthentication is enabled, even 802.11v clients receive deauthentication messages, which may result in dropped connections.