Users may encounter confusion when using the "| delete" command in Splunk. While they may expect it to free up storage space by physically removing data, it actually only marks data as deleted without reclaiming disk space.
This article applies to all Splunk Enterprise installations, particularly beneficial to administrators looking to free up disk space.
splunk clean eventdata -index <index_name>
Refer to the following documentation for more details: Remove data from Splunk
| Revision | Publish Date | Comments |
|---|---|---|
1.0 |
30-Sep-2026
|
Initial Release |