There is a message showing on Splunk GUI about an orphaned search for a deleted user, however, after going to Reassign Knowledge Objects in Splunk web, there is no orphaned search found under the user that is mentioned on the GUI's message.
After checking for $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/users/deleted.user/search/local/savedsearches.conf the file is found empty. At this point, the documentation cannot be followed since this scenario is not described.
How to fix it:
Search for metadata under the deleted.user's name in order to identify where is the orphaned search.
For Linux:
find . -name '*.meta' | grep -iH <deleted.user>
for Windows:
get-childitem C:\ -name -recurse *.meta*
Through the searches a savedsearches.conf file should be found under the deleted.user ownership containing the orphaned search.
After changing the ownership the GUI message will no longer show.
| Revision | Publish Date | Comments |
|---|---|---|
1.0 |
28-Sep-2026
|
Initial Release |