Have an account?

  •   Personalized content
  •   Your products and support

Need an account?

Create an account

Network Programmability Developer Specialist certification

The Cisco Network Programmability Developer Specialist certification is for software programmers who focus on the development of the network applications layer, which can live in any of the Cisco provided programmable components, and will enable service provider, campus, and data center use cases.


The Cisco Network Programmability Developer Specialist certification and course develop the foundation skills needed to develop network applications in programmable environments such as Cisco's One Platform Kit (onePK), Open Daylight Controller (ODL), and Application Policy Infrastructure Controllers (APICs). Unlike SDN courses that focus on network theory, this certification adds to your practical networking understanding and utilizes Cisco's experience in WAN, data center, and campus environments to provide you with the skills you will need to become a network developer.

Candidates should be able to program in Python, C, or other languages in an open networking environment prior to this certification.


No prerequisites

Exams and recommended training

Required exam Recommended training
300-560 NPDEV Developing with Cisco Network Programmability (NPDEV)


Self-paced e-learning    |    Instructor-led training

Sorry, no results matched your search criteria(s). Please try again.

Exam information

This exam tests a candidate's knowledge of programming fundamentals, data handling and formats, network controller platforms and protocols, device programmability (NXOS-API, ASA-API, IOS (XE/XR)), Application Programming Interfaces (APIs), Cisco Software Development Kits (SDKs) and networking fundamentals.

300-560 NPDEV exam topics

Classroom training

Developing with Cisco Network Programmability (NPDEV)

This course will teach the basics of networking functions for infrastructure components in a network, and the need for network programmability. It will include Cisco ACI, APIC-EM and Open SDN Controller technologies and conceptual frameworks, as well as how to make REST and Python requests. 


On February 24, 2020, the recertification policy for this exam will be changing.


Cisco Specialist certifications are valid for two years.

To recertify, pass one of the following before the certification expiration date:

  • Pass the current required exam(s), or
  • Pass a current CCIE written exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE written exam, or current CCDE practical exam
Visit recertification policy