Explore Cisco
How to Buy

Have an account?

  •   Personalized content
  •   Your products and support

Need an account?

Create an account

The Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) certification has reached end of life. Applications to obtain this certification are no longer being accepted. If you have already achieved your CCAr certification, you will automatically receive Lifetime Emeritus status.

Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr)

The CCAr is the highest level of accreditation achievable within the Cisco certification program.

The CCAr certification is for senior network infrastructure architects who produce technical specifications for the network to support business objectives. The curriculum focuses on understanding the business strategy and translating it into technical infrastructure requirements.


Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) certifications are valid for five years. CCAr will remain certified as long as they continue to contribute to maintaining the Cisco Certified Architect Certification program. Current recertification policies require Cisco Certified Architects to complete qualifying events within the 24 months preceding the expiration deadline.

Qualifying events include:

  • Contribution to the development lifecycle
    • Significant participation in the creation of new exam content or
    • Significant review/refinement of existing content or
    • Involvement in future direction of the program
  • Participation as a judge in a candidate evaluation
    • Application review/interview for TWO (2) candidates (in the case where the candidate's application IS NOT approved to progress to the board review) or
    • Application review/interview and in-person board review for ONE (1) candidate (in the case where the candidate's application IS approved to progress to the board review)

A valid CCAr will automatically recertify all other Cisco Certifications. When using a higher level of certification to extend other certifications, the expiration date of other certifications will extend to the expiration date of the higher certification (i.e.: If you have one year left on your CCNA certification and you earn a CCIE certification (which has a two-year certification life) then both your CCIE certification and your CCNA certification will expire two years from the date you achieved the CCIE certification).