Software Upgrade pages enable you to upgrade Emergency Responder software from
a DVD (local source) or from a network location (remote source) that the
Emergency Responder server can access. The Emergency Responder Publisher must
be upgraded first, followed by the Subscriber.
Responder 8.6 and later, you cannot install upgrade software on your server
while the system continues to operate. A Refresh Upgrade is required for all
upgrades from Emergency Responder 8.6 or earlier to the most recent version of
Emergency Responder. A Refresh Upgrade is a fresh install on the inactive
partition, with embedded data migration. A Refresh Upgrade requires server
downtime. This is less critical in a redundant system with both Emergency
Responder Publisher and Subscriber.
Before you begin the
upgrade, back up your system.
When you install the
upgrade software, there will be a temporary server outage while the Emergency
Responder software is installed. After you begin the upgrade, using either the
command line or graphical user interface, the data will be migrated, and the
system will automatically reboot, at which point the server outage begins. The
duration of this outage depends on your configuration and amount of data. A
notification email is sent at the start and end of Refresh Upgrade.
If an administrator
makes changes during the upgrade process such as exporting data, then that data
could be lost after upgrade.
software remains in the inactive partition until the next upgrade.
A manual switch back
can revert to the old version. If the upgrade fails, the system automatically
reverts to the previous version. Your configuration information migrates
automatically to the upgraded version in the active partition.
If for any
reason you decide to back out of the upgrade, you can restart the system to the
inactive partition that contains the older version of the software using the
configuration changes that you made since you upgraded the software will be
lost, because the database on the inactive partition does not get updated. If
you make changes to the database after an upgrade, you must repeat those
changes after switching back to the inactive partition.