When you transfer a call, you can stay on the original call until the other person answers. You can now talk privately with the other person before you remove yourself from the call.
If you don't want to talk, transfer the call without waiting for the other person to answer. This action is called a blind transfer.
You can also swap between both callers to consult with them individually before you remove yourself from the call.