Back Up and Restore Appliance Configurations
Revised: March 2015
This chapter explains how you can use the Appliance Administrative Interface (AAI) to backup a Cisco DMS appliance or restore a previous backup. It includes the following sections:
Guidelines and Limitations
- Media stored on external hosting locations is not backed up. If you delete a video from Cisco Show and Share, it is removed from the external hosting location. If you restore a backup taken before the video was deleted, you will see the video listed in Cisco Show and Share but will receive a file not found error if you try to play the video because the video had previously been removed from the external hosting location.
- Backup and restore your entire system—Cisco Show and Share, Cisco DMM, and your external hosting locations—at the same time to ensure that the restored data matches across all three components.
- When restoring a backup to a replacement appliance, you must install the license on the appliance before restoring the data.
- You cannot restore a backup taken on one version of the software to another version of the software. Backups must be restored on an appliance running the same version of software as when the backup was taken. For example, you cannot restore a backup taken on an appliance running Cisco DMS 5.3 software to an appliance running Cisco DMS 5.5 software.
- Scheduled backup information is not retained in the backup file. When you restore your data you will need to reschedule any recurring backups.
Back Up and Restore Your Appliance
You can backup the appliance to a USB drive or to a remote rsync, SFTP, or FTP server. You have the option of backing up the configuration only or backing up the configuration and any locally stored media. Media stored on external servers is not backed up.
For backup and restore instructions, see the Release Notes for Cisco Show and Share and Digital Media Manager on Cisco.com.