The Software Upgrade pages enable you to upgrade Emergency Responder software from a DVD (local source) or from a network location (remote source) that the Emergency Responder server can access. The Emergency Responder Publisher must be upgraded first, followed by the Subscriber.
With Emergency Responder 8.6 and later, you cannot install upgrade software on your server while the system continues to operate. A Refresh Upgrade is required for all upgrades from Emergency Responder 8.6 or earlier to the most recent version of Emergency Responder. A Refresh Upgrade is a fresh install on the inactive partition, with embedded data migration. A Refresh Upgrade requires server downtime. This is less critical in a redundant system with both Emergency Responder Publisher and Subscriber.
Before you begin the upgrade, back up your system.
When you install the upgrade software, there will be a temporary server outage while the Emergency Responder software is installed. After you begin the upgrade, using either the command line or graphical user interface, the data will be migrated, and the system will automatically reboot, at which point the server outage begins. The duration of this outage depends on your configuration and amount of data. A notification email is sent at the start and end of Refresh Upgrade.
If an administrator makes changes during the upgrade process such as exporting data, then that data could be lost after upgrade.
The previous software remains in the inactive partition until the next upgrade.
A manual switch back can revert to the old version. If the upgrade fails, the system automatically reverts to the previous version. Your configuration information migrates automatically to the upgraded version in the active partition.
If for any reason you decide to back out of the upgrade, you can restart the system to the inactive partition that contains the older version of the software using the switch-version option.
However, any configuration changes that you made since you upgraded the software will be lost, because the database on the inactive partition does not get updated. If you make changes to the database after an upgrade, you must repeat those changes after switching back to the inactive partition.