Guest

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CallManager)

Cisco CallManager 3.3(2) Installation and Upgrade Warning

 Feedback

Table Of Contents

Cisco CallManager 3.3(2) Installation and Upgrade Warning

Caution

Requirements


Cisco CallManager 3.3(2) Installation and Upgrade Warning


Caution

Cisco CallManager Release 3.3(2) uses significantly new upgrade and installation procedures. You must perform all installation/upgrade procedures exactly as stated in the Cisco CallManager installation/upgrade documentation. Failure to do so can cause installation errors, installation failures, and, during upgrades, a total system failure, including a loss of Cisco CallManager data/configuration settings.

Requirements

The following requirements apply to the Cisco CallManager 3.3(2) upgrade and installation. Refer to the Cisco CallManager 3.3(2) installation and upgrade documentation for additional requirements.

Upgrade—You must install, configure, and perform a backup on the publisher database server by using Cisco IP Telephony Applications Backup Utility Version 3.5.6 or later. Refer to Upgrading Cisco CallManager Release 3.3(2) for more information.

Upgrade—After you verify that you have a good backup of your data, you may pull a drive to save the configured data; however, you must insert a replacement drive into the server before you actually begin the operating system procedures. This task may require that you purchase a new drive before you start the upgrade. For more information about this task, refer to Upgrading Cisco CallManager Release 3.3(2).

Upgrade—You must configure name resolution on every server in the cluster where Cisco CallManager is installed. After installing the operating system installation and before installing Cisco CallManager, you must also configure name resolution for the backup location.

Upgrade—During the restoration, if your location is a network directory, you must click the Browse button and highlight the MCS.sti file. Failure to highlight the file causes the upgrade to fail.

Installation or Upgrade—Remove, if applicable, and do not place servers in an NT or an Active Directory Domain until you complete all installation/upgrade procedures on all servers in the cluster.