Cisco Unity Express 7.1 GUI Administrator Guide
Logging In and Out of Cisco Unity Express
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 300.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 3.13MB) | Feedback

Logging In and Out of Cisco Unity Express

Table Of Contents

Logging In and Out of Cisco Unity Express

Logging In to Cisco Unity Express

Logging Out of Cisco Unity Express


Logging In and Out of Cisco Unity Express


Last updated: May 1, 2006

This chapter describes processes for logging in and logging out and contains the following sections:

Logging In to Cisco Unity Express

Logging Out of Cisco Unity Express


Note You must use Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 or later as the web browser. Cisco Unity Express does not support other browsers.


Logging In to Cisco Unity Express

Logging in to Cisco Unity Express is very simple.


Step 1 Open your browser and enter http://a.b.c.d, where a.b.c.d is the IP address of the module.

The Authentication window appears:

Step 2 In the User Name field, enter your user ID. The user ID is case-sensitive; be sure to type the user ID with correct upper- and lowercase letters.

Step 3 In the Password field, enter your password. The password is case-sensitive; be sure to type the password with correct upper- and lowercase letters and special characters.

Step 4 Click Login.

Step 5 Do one of the following:

a. If your password is accepted, go to Step 9.

b. If your password has expired, the Password Expired window appears.


Note Passwords expire for two reasons. The first reason is that you are a new subscriber and this is the first time you are logging in to the system. The second reason is that the password expiry is enabled on the system and your password has reached its expiration date.


Step 6 In the New password field, enter your new password. Be sure to type the upper- and lowercase letters and special characters carefully.

Step 7 In the Confirm new password field, retype the password from Step 6.

Step 8 Click Apply.

If the user ID and password were entered correctly, the Home window appears:


Note If you do not have superuser privileges assigned to you, the menus on this screen will be different.


Step 9 You can begin Cisco Unity Express administrative tasks. All administration activity uses the menus in this window. See "Navigating Through the Cisco Unity Express GUI Windows" on page 63 for a description of the different menus. See "Sequence of Administrative Tasks" on page 77 for a list of administrative tasks.


For Cisco Unified CallManager Express, if the system displays the Lost Contact screen, there may be network connectivity issues between Cisco Unity Express and the Cisco Unified CME system.

The Lost Contact screen may also appear if the Cisco Unified CME web administrator and password and the administrator username and password stored in the Cisco Unity Express database do not match. This could happen if, for example, the Cisco Unified CME web administrator password is changed through the Cisco IOS command-line interface (CLI) and Cisco Unity Express is not updated.

To resolve, ensure that you have an enable password configured on Cisco Unified CME. If not, Cisco Unity Express accepts any password even if it does not match the one configured with the telephony or telephony-service Cisco Unified CME command.

Enter the correct Cisco Unified CME hostname and IP address, username, and password. Enter the password again to confirm, and click Apply.

Logging Out of Cisco Unity Express

Log out of Cisco Unity Express when you finish your current set of tasks so that unauthorized personnel will not have access to the administration functions.

Follow these steps to log out of Cisco Unity Express.


Step 1 Before logging out of the system, save changes to the windows in which you were working. (Use the Administration > Control Panel option to save your data.) Logging out does not automatically save new field entries.

Step 2 When you are ready to log out of Cisco Unity Express, go to the upper right corner of the Home window and click Logout.

The Logged Out window appears:

Step 3 Do one of the following:

Click Login again to re-enter the administration windows.

Close the application.