Unified Messaging Guide for Cisco Unity Connection Release 9.x
Moving Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes for Connection 9x Users Who Are Configured for Unified Messaging
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 96.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 2.19MB) | Feedback

Moving Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes for Connection Users Who Are Configured for Unified Messaging

Table Of Contents

Moving Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes for Connection Users Who Are Configured for Unified Messaging

Determining When You Must Update Cisco Unity Connection User Settings Manually After You Move Exchange Mailboxes

Moving Exchange Mailboxes to a New Exchange Server for Connection

Replacing Connection Unified Messaging Accounts After You Move Exchange Mailboxes


Moving Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes for Connection Users Who Are Configured for Unified Messaging


See the following sections:

Determining When You Must Update Cisco Unity Connection User Settings Manually After You Move Exchange Mailboxes

Moving Exchange Mailboxes to a New Exchange Server for Connection

Replacing Connection Unified Messaging Accounts After You Move Exchange Mailboxes

Determining When You Must Update Cisco Unity Connection User Settings Manually After You Move Exchange Mailboxes

Revised May 29, 2013

If you create one or more unified messaging services for Exchange, as described in the "Configuring Cisco Unity Connection and Microsoft Exchange for Unified Messaging" chapter, one of the settings identifies the Exchange servers that Connection communicates with:

If you choose to allow Connection to search for Exchange servers, Connection can automatically detect when you move mailboxes from one version of Exchange to another and can automatically update Connection user settings.

If you choose a specific Exchange server, Connection can sometimes detect when you move mailboxes from one Exchange server to another, and can automatically update hidden Connection user settings. When Connection cannot detect mailbox moves, you must manually replace the unified messaging account that accesses the old Exchange server with a unified messaging account that accesses the new server. Table 4-1 identifies when Connection can and cannot automatically detect mailbox moves between Exchange servers.

Table 4-1 When Connection Can Detect Mailbox Moves Between Exchange servers 

If you choose a specific
Connection can automatically detect mailbox moves between the following Exchange versions
2003 and 2003
2003 and 2007
2003 and 2010
2007 and 2007
2007 and 2010
2010 and 2010
2007 and 2013
2010 and 2013
2013 and 2013

Exchange 2003 server

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

Exchange 2007 server

No

No

No

Yes

No

No

No

No

No

Exchange 2010 server

No

No

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

Exchange 2013 server

No

No

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes


If Connection cannot automatically detect mailbox moves, do the procedure in the "Replacing Connection Unified Messaging Accounts After You Move Exchange Mailboxes" section.

Moving Exchange Mailboxes to a New Exchange Server for Connection

If you add an Exchange server to the Exchange organization, you want to move Exchange mailboxes to the new server, and the Exchange mailboxes are associated with Connection users who are configured for single inbox, you must grant the permissions that Connection requires before you move the mailboxes. Otherwise, Connection users will not be able to access their voice messages in the new location. This is true regardless of whether you allow Connection to search for Exchange servers or you configure Connection to communicate with a specific Exchange server.

For information on granting the necessary permissions, see the "Creating the Unified Messaging Services Account in Active Directory and Granting Permissions for Cisco Unity Connection" section. Note that creating a new unified messaging services account for the new Exchange server is not necessary; you can also grant an existing unified messaging services account the permissions required to access the new Exchange server.

Replacing Connection Unified Messaging Accounts After You Move Exchange Mailboxes

When Connection cannot detect Exchange mailbox moves and, therefore, cannot automatically update the location of the Exchange mailbox for a Connection user, you must manually create a new unified messaging account that accesses the new mailbox location and delete the unified messaging account that accessed the old mailbox location.


Caution Between the time that you move Exchange mailboxes and the time that you update Connection settings for the affected users, Connection will not synchronize voice messages with the corresponding Exchange mailboxes.

To Replace Connection Unified Messaging Accounts After You Move Exchange Mailboxes


Step 1 Review the "Determining When You Must Update Cisco Unity Connection User Settings Manually After You Move Exchange Mailboxes" section to determine whether Connection can automatically detect mailbox moves for your Exchange configuration and Connection settings:

If Connection can detect mailbox moves, skip the rest of this procedure.

If Connection cannot detect mailbox moves, continue with Step 2.

Step 2 If you moved the Exchange mailbox to an Exchange server for which there is currently no Connection unified messaging service, create the service. For more information, see the "Creating a Unified Messaging Service to Access Exchange from Cisco Unity Connection" section.

Step 3 Create a new unified messaging account for the user, and choose a unified messaging service that accesses the Exchange server to which the mailbox was moved. For more information, see the "Creating Unified Messaging Accounts to Link Cisco Unity Connection Users to Exchange Mailboxes" section.

Step 4 Delete the unified messaging account that accessed the Exchange server from which the mailbox was moved:

a. In Cisco Unity Connection Administration, expand Users, then select Users.

b. On the Search Users page, select the alias of a user.


Note If the user alias does not appear in the search results table, set the applicable parameters in the search fields at the top of the page, and select Search.


c. On the Edit User Basics page, on the Edit menu, select Unified Messaging Accounts.

d. On the Unified Messaging Accounts page, check the check box to the left of the unified messaging account that you want to delete.

e. Select Delete Selected.

Step 5 Repeat Step 2 through Step 4 for the other Connection users whose Exchange mailboxes you moved.