International Girls in ICT Day on April 22

Global figures show a startling economic disparity with women losing jobs at almost twice the rate of men and leaving 47 million more women and girls below the poverty line. That’s why we’re supporting International Girls in ICT Day on 22 April 2021.

International Girls in ICT Day is a global movement aimed at inspiring girls. Cisco is celebrating on 22 April 2021 to motivate girls and women to consider science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) subjects by;  

  • Exposing them to the opportunities Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths (STEM) skills can bring to their future, including career pathways, career attainment and advancement.
  • Hear from 8 inspiring female role models in a variety of IT-related roles through virtual broadcasts taking place around the world.
  • Demonstrate how passion and technology combined can help learners embark on a hybrid career through Networking Academy courses.

Asia Pacific

Speakers

Sadaf Monajemi
Co-Founder and Director
See-Mode

 

Sarah Mak
Co-Founder & CEO
Folktale

Topic

A co-founder who helps doctors predict and prevent strokes using deep learning and computational modelling.
 

A co-founder and CEO of a SaaS platform for organisations to listen at scale through the power of crowd-sourced videos.

Time

9:30 am New Delhi

12 noon Singapore

2 pm Sydney

Europe, Middle East, Africa, and Russia

Speakers

Clementine Chambon
Co-founder and CTO
Oorja


Hadeel Ayoub
Founder & CTO
BrightSign

Topic

A co-founder and grand prize winner of the Cisco Global Problem Solver Challenge who developed a pay-as-you-go solar water irrigation system that enables smallholder farmers in India.

A founder who invented a smart glove that translates sign language.

Time

11 am London

12 pm Paris

1 pm Johannesburg

3 pm Dubai

United States and Canada

Speakers

Marita Cheng
Founder and CEO
Aubot

Emily Kennedy
President and Co-Founder
Marinus Analytics

Topic

A founder and CEO who builds robots with telepresence that enable hospitalized children to attend school, people with disabilities to work remotely, and others to monitor and socialize with elderly people.

A co-founder who uses Artificial Intelligence to address social problems like human trafficking.

Time

10 am Pacific

Latin America

Speakers

Maria Laura Ruggiero
AR/VR Filmmaker
SEIRENFILMS

 

Maria Berruezo
Co-founder
LactApp

Topic

A film maker who uses technology to create new ways of story telling.
 

 

A co-founder who created an app as a tool to provide evidence based and customized advice to breastfeeding women through Artificial Intelligence.

Time

11 am Mexico

12 pm Chile

Anyone can code

See for yourself by joining us for a Facebook live event on Thursday, 15 April for an hour of fun.

Cisco Networking Academy. Build Your Skills Today. It's Free!

Check out our free, on-line, self-paced exploratory courses! People who can build networks, develops apps and secure devices can bring ideas to life. Take a free course with NetAcad and join a growing number of global problem solvers, who innovates like technologists, think like entrepreneurs and act as social change agents.

STEM Passport

Join our loyalty program: Your one-way ticket to cool careers.

There are two things you can tell about a person. The stamps in their passport and the technology they adopt! Yours tells us you’re ready to receive a backstage pass to meet one of our Women Rock-IT speakers.

Attend 5 live broadcasts and collect 5 stamps to be entered to win.  But hurry, you have until 1 August 2021 to be eligible.

View all our past events now on-demand!

Experience the highlights of past speakers and their presentations by accessing our library of on-demand sessions