Cisco Certified DevNet Specialist Certification and Training

Cisco U. Tech learning, shaped to you.

Create a free account

A first-of-its-kind at Cisco, the DevNet training and certification program validates key, emerging skills for a new kind of software professional. Whether you’re a software developer, DevOps engineer, automation specialist, and other software professional, DevNet Specialist certifications help you take advantage of new opportunities in application design, software development, and automation.


As software and the network grow more and more interconnected, Cisco Certified DevNet Specialist certifications allow you to validate your software development skills in key, emerging focus areas.

Each DevNet Specialist certification connects development, operations, security, and network operations, in environments focused on continuous delivery of applications and services using Cisco platforms and devices.

Choose your focus areas from these options:

  • Automating and Programming Cisco Enterprise Solutions
  • Automating and Programming Cisco Security Solutions
  • Automating and Programming Cisco Service Provider Solutions
  • Automating and Programming Cisco Collaboration Solutions
  • Automating and Programming Cisco Data Center Solutions
  • Developing Applications using Cisco Core Platforms and APIs
  • Implementing DevOps Solutions and Practices Using Cisco Platforms
  • Developing Solutions Using Cisco IoT and Edge Platforms
  • Developing Applications for Cisco Webex and Webex Devices

The certification process couldn’t be simpler: for each certification, just pass one exam and you’re certified. And with Cisco training courses to support every exam, we’ll be with you every step of the way.

Cisco Certified DevNet Specialist certifications give you incremental recognition as you work toward other certifications. And they let you align your certifications to your unique needs: your job role, your interests, and ultimately, your career.


There are no formal prerequisites for DevNet Professional certification, but you should have a good understanding of the exam topics before taking the exam.

Ideally, DevNet Specialist candidates also have three to five years of experience with software development including Python programming.


DevNet Specialist certification is valid for three years. As a Cisco certified individual you have flexible options to recertify when you complete eligible items through the Cisco Continuing Education program. Learn more by downloading the ebook below.

Just for partners

A DevNet Specialization is available to Cisco partners. Requirements include Cisco Certified DevNet Specialist certified employees.