Cisco IPS Specialist

The Cisco IPS Specialist certification recognizes security professionals who can deploy, configure, and troubleshoot the Cisco Intrusion Prevention System (IPS) to work well in a complete security solution. Additionally, the Cisco IPS Specialist is the foundation for individuals who can operate and monitor Cisco IOS Software and IPS technologies to prevent, understand, and respond to intrusion attempts.

Click here to visit the Cisco Learning Network. Register for free to access premium content including certification blogs, join a social network, play learning games, and much more.

The Cisco Learning Network also contains additional information on Cisco specializations and Cisco Channel specializations.

Partners: Log in for Partner E-Learning Connection (PEC) learning map

Cisco IPS Specialist Prerequisites
Valid CCNA Security or any CCIE Certification can act as a pre-requisite.

Cisco IPS Specialist Exams & Recommended Training
Required Exam(s)
Recommended Training
642-627 IPS v7.0

Implementing Cisco Intrusion Prevention System v7.0 (IPS v7.0)

Cisco IPS Specialist Recertification

Complete one of the following recertification options every two years. To recertify, pass ONE of the following before the certification expiration date:

  • Pass a 642-XXX Security professional-level written exam, or
  • Pass the current CCIE written exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE written exam, or current CCDE Practical Exam
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review

For more information, access the Cisco About Recertification page.