Cisco IOS Security Specialist

The Cisco IOS Security Specialist certification recognizes security professionals who can demonstrate the hands-on knowledge and skills that are required to secure networks. Knowledge and skills include using Cisco IOS Security features for switch and router security as well as the widely deployed Cisco security appliances. Cisco IOS Security Specialists are able to secure the network environment and provide security services that are based on Cisco IOS Software, such as zone-based policy firewall, Cisco IOS IPS, user-based firewall, secure tunnels using IPsec VPN technology--including PKI, VTI and DVTI, Group Encrypted Transport VPN, and DMVPN--and advanced switch security features.

Click here to visit the Cisco Learning Network. Register for free to access premium content including certification blogs, join a social network, play learning games, and much more.

The Cisco Learning Network also contains additional information on Cisco specializations and Cisco Channel specializations.

Cisco IOS Security Specialist Prerequisites
CCNA Security
Cisco IOS Security Specialist Exams and Recommended Training
Required Exam(s)
Recommended Training
642-637 SECURE v1.0 Securing Networks with Cisco Routers and Switches (SECURE v1.0)
Cisco IOS Security Specialist Recertification

Cisco Specialist certifications are valid for two years. To recertify, pass ONE of the following before the certification expiration date:

  • Pass a 642-XXX Security professional-level written exam, or
  • Pass the current CCIE written exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE written exam, or current CCDE Practical Exam
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review

For more information, access the Cisco About Recertification page.