Configuration Migration Service Online Help
Configuration Migration Tool OLH
The Configuration Migration Tool allows you to convert configuration files from previous generation of Cisco SMB switches (Sx200/Sx300/Sx500 devices) to the newest products (Sx250/Sx350/Sx550).
Follow these steps to convert a configuration file:
  1. Save the current configuration of the device you want to use as the source for the conversion. Make sure the following conditions are met when saving the configuration file:
    1. The source device must be operating with firmware version 1.4 or above.
    2. The configuration file is in plaintext or excluded SSD mode.
  2. Select the model of the source device from the Source Device Model drop down.
  3. Copy the text of the source configuration file to the Source Configuration text area.
    1. Make sure the source configuration includes the file full header section.
  4. Select the model of the destination device from the Destination Device Model drop down.
  5. Click the Convert button.
  6. Once the conversion is complete, review the results in the Updated Configuration text area.
    1. Note that all rows that were updated will be highlighted in the text area.
    2. Comments are added to the configuration to explain all the changes that were made during the conversion.
  7. Copy the updated configuration and paste it into a new text file.
  8. Download the new configuration file to the destination device.
    1. Note that the destination device must be operating with firmware version 2.3 or above.
The Configuration Migration Tool will perform the following conversions:
  1. Update interface names to the new interface naming conventions used in the new devices.
    1. When converting the settings from the source device to the destination device, the tool will attempt to map the commands from interfaces in the source device to interfaces that would use the same role in the destination device.
  2. Convert commands that are no longer supported to analogous commands from the newer devices.
    1. The tool will attempt to keep the same functionality between the original behavior and the behavior in the updated configuration.
  3. Remove commands for features that are no longer supported.