Chats
Search from Chat Windows
You can find, add, and call contacts from the search bar in chat windows.
Start Group Chats
You can use group chats to send instant messages to two or more contacts at the same time. Group chats are not persistent, meaning that you can use them to create a chat with two or more people but no history is stored.
Transfer Files
You can transfer files between Cisco Jabber clients using the Send file icon in the chat window. You can also drag and drop the file into the chat window.
Block Specific Contacts and Domains
![]() Note | If you add a contact to your block list, and that contact has you in their contact list, that person cannot view your availability status or send you instant messages. |
- Example 1: Block specific contacts inside your organization
You add an IM address to your block list. That contact cannot view your availability status or send you instant messages.
- Example 2: Block specific domains
You add a specific domain, such as cisco.com, to your block list. No contacts who have IM accounts at that domain can view your availability status or send you instant messages.
Allow Specific Contacts and Domains
Some deployments of Cisco Jabber include an allow list that adds exceptions to the block list. You can enter specific contacts or domains in your allow list to ensure those contacts can view your availability status and send you messages.
![]() Note | Cisco Jabber uses your contact list as an allow list. You do not need to add contacts in your contact list to your allow list. |
- Example 1: Allow specific contacts inside your organization
Cisco Jabber blocks all contacts inside your company, except for those specific people in your allow list.- Example 2: Allow specific domains
Cisco Jabber blocks everyone outside your company, except for people who have IM accounts at cisco.com.- Example 3: Allow specific contacts from blocked domains
Cisco Jabber blocks all people who have IM accounts at cisco.com, except for anitaperez@cisco.com.
Control Who Can Interact with You
Some deployments of Cisco Jabber let you control who interacts with you inside your company and outside your company.
Manage Status Requests
Some deployments of Cisco Jabber let you manage notifications when people request to view your availability status.
| Step 1 | Select . | ||||||||
| Step 2 | Select the Privacy tab. | ||||||||
| Step 3 | Select one of the following options:
| ||||||||
| Step 4 | Select Apply and then OK. |
Chat Rooms
You can use chat rooms if they are enabled by your administrator. Chat rooms are enabled if there is a Chat Rooms icon on your hub window.
Use chat rooms to join or read discussions on the theme of the room with the other chat room members. For example, your administrator may create a themed chat room such as "Foreign Exchange Rates", where you can join this room to discuss the foreign currency exchange rates and view all previous messages sent to the room since its creation.
You can browse all rooms by viewing a list of room names, join open rooms, or be added to a room by an administrator. You can be a member of multiple rooms. You can filter room content by keywords or senders.
Join Chat Rooms
Joining a chat room allows you to participate in the conversation or read what is being said, where multiple chat room members share information in a common chat window. All of the rooms that you are a member of are listed in your My rooms tab. If an administrator adds you to a chat room, it is displayed immediately in your My rooms tab.
| Step 1 | Click the Chat Room icon in the Hub window, and select the All Rooms tab. |
| Step 2 | Browse for a room, which are listed alphabetically. If a room is restricted to specific members, you cannot join the room unless you are added by an administrator. For the restricted rooms that you are not a member of, you see a lock icon instead of the Join button. |
| Step 3 | Click Join beside the room that you want to join. The rooms where you are already a member have a checkmark beside them. |
Participate in a Room
After you join a room, you can participate in the chat room and view the discussion history. Some chat rooms may be used to only distribute information, where some members are entitled to publish information and others have read-only access.
Select the Chat Room icon on the hub window, and click on My Rooms to view the rooms where you are a member. Double-click on the room that you want to enter.
When you enter a chat room, the history of conversation is persistent. Even if you exit a chat room and close the client, you can return to the conversation in that room. When you return to the chat room, you can view the messages that were sent by other members while you were not logged in. In a room, select Show More to view older messages.
View the current participant list on the right side of the chat window. You can show or hide the participant list.
Filter Rooms
Filters
Filters search chat room using the criteria that you define for the search. You see a red badge, which displays the number of new matches found for your filter. Filters can include mentions when your username is used in a chat room, or custom filters that search by keyword or sender.
In the Filters tab, select Create Filter. You can filter chat rooms using up to three keywords or by username. Give the filter a label and then define the filter criteria. You must define at least one keyword or the username of the sender, but you can specify the sender and up to three keywords. When you are done, select Create.
Results are listed on the Filter tab, with a number to indicate how many results were found that you have not read. Results are updated automatically each time a new match for your filter is made. When you have matches on your filter, you can click on the filter match to open the chat history in the rooms where the matches were found.
My mentions
When other users mention your username, it creates a notification in the My mentions section of your chat room filters. Mentioning users creates a notification that they were mentioned in a chat room.
To create a mention for another user, in the text box of the chat window, type the @ symbol followed by the person's user name to search the directory for the user. The client will display user names that match what you are typing. Select the username that you want to mention. You can mention a username that does not have a Jabber ID associated with it. After you send the message, a notification is created for the mentioned user in their My mentions, with a link to the conversation in the room where the mention is. You can use the @ symbol as part of your text entry, just tap the Esc key to exit the mention field. Users only receive a notification if the chat room is public and they are a user in the organization, or if they are a member of the chat room.
Search Rooms
You can search the persistent chat rooms by keywords, and further refine your keyword search with criteria such as participants, room name, and date range. You search persistent chat rooms by entering search criteria in a search box, just like you search for contacts in your Jabber hub window.
After you specify search criteria, the search results appear as tabs within the integrated session window, much like a chat room filter. Results are sorted chronologically and grouped by room. The maximum number of results displayed is 200, although you can show more messages to display more results. You double click on a result to open the persistent chat room where the search got a match.
Chat Room Permission Levels
Administrators can restrict your participation in chat rooms by changing your permission level, which define how you can participate in a room.
You may have one of the following levels of access to a chat room:

Feedback