Dispatch messages are sent to a distribution list of users who are available to respond to issues. Only one person needs to accept a dispatch message. After Cisco Unity Connection plays a dispatch message, it provides the following options:
Accept the message
Means that you are the only member of the distribution list who will accept the message. Copies of the message are removed from the mailboxes of all other recipients, whether they have listened to the message or not.
Decline the message
Means that the message is removed from your mailbox, but copies of the message remain as unheard in the mailboxes of other recipients who have not yet declined the message.
If all other recipients have declined the dispatch message, you must accept it. You will not be allowed to decline the message.
Postpone the message
Means that the message remains as an unheard message in your mailbox and in the mailboxes of the other recipients who have not yet declined the message.
Responding to Dispatch Messages
Note the following considerations about responding to dispatch messages:
If another recipient accepts the dispatch message before you accept it, your copy of the message is removed from your mailbox.
When you decline a dispatch message, Cisco Unity Connection does not move it to your deleted items folder.
Dispatch messages trigger the message indicator on your phone. If another recipient accepts a dispatch message, Connection turns off the indicator after it removes the message from your mailbox. There may be a window of time between message removal and the indicator going off. If you find no new messages after noting the indicator, it likely is because you checked during this window.
When configuring message notification rules to include dispatch messages, be aware that by the time you receive a notification and call in to retrieve the message, it may be gone from your mailbox because another user has already accepted the message.