Performance Guidelines for Local Storage
We recommend that you do not upload files to the /tmp/ftproot subdirectory. Instead, use /tmp/ftproot/usb_1.
If you upload files to /tmp/ftproot accidentally, and then DMP performance suffers, you can restore your DMP to its normal operating condition easily. Just unplug it, wait 15 seconds, and then plug it in again.
Note This method deletes the files that you uploaded.
Local Storage Restrictions for DMP 4310G
A DMP 4310G that uses an attached USB storage volume might corrupt or erase data on this attached volume. Likewise, a DMP 4310G might lose its ability to mount this attached volume. After the DMP reaches this general state, it sometimes reports incorrectly that the attached volume is still mounted and working.
These problems can occur when you disconnect the external volume from the upper USB interface on a DMP 4310G and then, without any delay, plug it immediately into the lower USB interface on the same DMP. However, these problems do not occur in every such case. In our tests, they occurred approximately 1 percent of the time.
To reduce your possible exposure to these problems, wait no less than 3 seconds after you connect or disconnect an attached volume, before you do the reverse. In our tests, this best practice eliminated the risk.
Restart the DMP if it merely unmounts its attached volume.
There is no workaround after the attached volume is erased or its data becomes corrupted. All that you can do after the fact is reformat the volume and restore its data from a recent backup.