Backup and Restore
Backing up or restoring system configuration involves both the Cisco Digital Media Manager appliance and the Cisco Show and Share appliance.
Use the following guidelines when backing up and restoring:
- Media stored on external hosting locations is not backed up. If you delete a video from Cisco Show and Share, it is removed from the external hosting location. If you restore a backup taken before the video was deleted, you will see the video listed in Cisco Show and Share but will receive a file not found error if you try to play the video because the video had previously been removed from the external hosting location.
- You must backup your entire system—Cisco Show and Share, Cisco DMM, and your external hosting locations—and restore your entire system at the same time to ensure that the restored data matches across all three components.
- When restoring a backup to a replacement appliance, you must install the license on the appliance before restoring the data.
- You cannot restore a backup taken on one version of the software to another version of the software. Backups must be restored on an appliance running the same version of software as when the backup was taken. For example, you cannot restore a backup taken on an appliance running Cisco DMS Release 5.2.x software to an appliance running Cisco DMS Release 5.3.x software.
- Scheduled backup information is not retained in the backup file. When you restore your data you will need to reschedule any recurring backups.
To back up Cisco Show and Share, refer to Release Notes for Cisco Show and Share and Digital Media Manager Release 5.5 on the MXA UCS M3 Server on Cisco.com.