Accessing an Archive

This section contains the following topics:

Access an Archive

Plan files and templates are stored in archive repositories, which can be installed on the same or on a different device or VM than WAE Design. From the WAE Design GUI, you can extract .pln files from these archive directories, make necessary modifications, and reinsert them as .pln files into an archive used by other applications. You can also open, modify, and save a remote archive template.

When you upload a template to a remote archive, you overwrite the existing template in that archive.

Procedure


Step 1

In the WAE Design GUI, use the File menu to start the process:

  • To open a plan file or template from a remote archive directory, choose File > Open from > WAE Archive.

  • To open a plan file or template used in an earlier WAE Design release, choose File > Open from > Design Archive.

  • To save a plan file or template to a WAE Design archive directory, choose File > Save to > Design Archive. You must have an administrative username and password to upload plan files or templates.

Step 2

After opening the dialog box, enter or choose the hostname or IP address of the server.

Step 3

Specify how to connect to the server by choosing the protocol (if applicable) and by entering or choosing the port number (for example, HTTP 8080).

Step 4

(Open from WAE Archive) Enter or choose the network. To automatically populate the Network field with the list of available networks, click Refresh List of Networks.

Step 5

(Open from Design Archive) Enter or choose the name of the archive you are accessing.

Step 6

Enter the username and password that give you access to the server. Both are case sensitive. If you do not know the password, contact your web system administrator.

Step 7

(Open from Design Archive) Enter the UTC offset to apply to the date specified in the Plan at time field. If you do not enter a date, the file is opened or saved according the server's UTC time.

Step 8

Choose options for opening or saving a plan file or template:

  • Template—(Open from Design Archive) Open the template file.

  • (Open from) Latest plan—Open the most recent plan file available.

  • Plan at time—Specify an exact date and time. If these plan files are not local, you either need to log in to the server or ask the administrator of that server for the correct date and time.

    On the server, these plan files are stored in an archive directory. To find it, go to the directory in which the plan file is stored and then drill down to the specific directory to list its contents. The directory structure format is <archive_path>/data/<year>/<month>/<YYMMDD>_UTC.

    Plan files have the format YYYYMMDD_HHMM_UTC.pln.

    Example: The following example shows an archive directory named cgo-archive for November 8, 2017. It has three plan files that were collected 30 minutes apart as shown by their times.

    /opt/cariden/archives/cgo-archive/data/2017/11/171108_UTC
    -rw-r--r-- 1 cariden cariden 115651 Feb 23 02:04 20171108_0201_UTC.pln
    -rw-r--r-- 1 cariden cariden 115651 Feb 23 02:04 20171108_0231_UTC.pln
    -rw-r--r-- 1 cariden cariden 115651 Feb 23 02:04 20171108_0301_UTC.pln
  • Select button—(Open from WAE Archive) Click Select to choose a specific plan file. The Select Archived Plan dialog box opens, showing the archived plan files. The default time range is set to the last hour. The time stamps are sorted in descending order, with the most recent time stamp selected. Choose the desired plan file and click OK.

Step 9

Click OK.


Save and Clear Settings

Procedure


Step 1

To save all settings for use the next time you open the dialog box, check Save Settings. This saves all settings whether the fields and all entries in the drop-down lists are empty or not.

Step 2

To save the authentication password, check Save Password.

Step 3

To clear all current user-specified settings from the fields, click Clear Settings. Note that this does not clear the default values, although manual entries in these fields are cleared.

Step 4

To delete all user-specific settings so the next time you open the dialog box all fields are empty (except for the default values), do the following:

  1. Click Clear Settings.

  2. Ensure that Save Settings is checked.

  3. Click OK to exit.

  4. At the prompt to continue, click Yes.