Fragments - The Internet Protocol Journal - Volume 3, No. 3


Scott Bradner Receives Postel Service Award

The Internet Society (ISOC) recently announced that noted Internet standards leader and Internet pioneer Scott O. Bradner has been awarded the prestigious Jonathan B. Postel Service Award for 2000. In presenting the award, Geoff Huston, Chair of ISOC, said, "Scott Bradner was introduced to many of us with his accurate and careful measurements of router performance. He has been a long standing participant in the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), and continues to serve on the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG) as the Area Director for Transport. He was a ISOC Trustee for six years from 1993 until 1999 and continues to serve as the Society's Vice-President for Standards. This is an impressive set of contributions and is worthy of recognition in Jon Postel's name as the 2000 recipient of the Jonathan B. Postel Service Award."

Don Heath, president and CEO of ISOC, said, "We established the award to honor the late Jon Postel by recognizing his unselfish and substantial contributions to the Internet over a 25 year period." He added, "Scott Bradner exemplifies the spirit of all that Jon brought to the Internet community and his outstanding contributions have made this year's choice an easy one. Scott's careful judgment and good humor has been a major contribution to many of the ISOC's activities, and we are pleased to be able to recognize his contributions in this unique fashion."

Bradner has been an active contributor to the IETF for over a decade, and has served as a Working Group Chair, the Area Director for Operations and currently serves as the Area Director for Transport. He also was the Director of the IPv6 area, and oversaw the process of refinement of a number of proposals into the definition of a coherent architecture for IPv6. Bradner has been the prime author of the current Internet Standards Process documents. He has also been an instructor at ISOC's Network Training Workshops for Developing Countries for many years, and has been a catalyst for the development of operationally robust Internet services in many areas of the world.

The Award is named for Dr. Jonathan B. Postel, an Internet pioneer and head of the organization that administered and assigned Internet names, protocol parameters, and Internet Protocol (IP) addresses. He was the primary architect behind what has become the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), the successor organization to his work. The Award is presented at the Internet Society's annual INET Conference. It consists of an engraved crystal globe and US $20,000.00. Scott Bradner becomes the second recipient of the award. The first was presented posthumously to Dr. Postel in 1999.

The Internet Society is a non-profit, non-governmental, open membership organization whose worldwide individual and organization members make up a veritable "who's who" of the Internet industry. It provides leadership in technical and operational standards, policy issues, and education. ISOC hosts two annual Internet conferences, trains people from all over the world in networking technologies, conducts workshops for educators, and publishes an award-winning magazine, OnTheInternet. ISOC provides an international forum to address the most important economic, political, social, ethical and legal initiatives influencing the evolution of the Internet. This includes facilitating discussions on key policy decisions such as taxation, copyright protection, privacy and confidentiality, and initiatives towards self-governance of the Internet. ISOC created the Internet Societal Task Force as an on-going forum for discussion, debate, and development of position papers, white papers, and statements on Internet related societal issues.

ISOC is the organizational home of the IETF, the Internet Architecture Board, the IESG, and the Internet Research Task Force the standards setting and research arms of the Internet community. These organizations operate in an environment of bottom-up consensus building made possible through the participation of thousands of people from throughout the world. For more information, see

APNIC Policy Meeting

The Asia Pacific Network Information Centre (APNIC) will host an Open Policy Meeting October 25-27, 2000 in Brisbane, Australia. The meeting is open to anyone with an interest in Internet addressing issues. For more information see:


The Asia Pacific Regional Internet Conference on Operational Technologies (APRICOT) will be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, February 26 to March 2, 2001. APRICOT is a forum that facilitates knowledge sharing among key Internet builders in the region, with peers and leaders from the Internet community worldwide. Since 1996, APRICOT has established itself as Asia Pacific's premier regional Internet Summit where related organisations converge and host their annual general meetings and other special events. The week-long summit comprises seminars, workshops, tutorials, conference sessions, Birds of a Feather (BOFs), and other forums, all geared towards spreading and sharing the knowledge required to operate the Internet within the Asia Pacific region. For more information see:

The Internet Protocol Journal
Ole J. Jacobsen , Editor and Publisher

Editorial Advisory Board

Dr. Vint Cerf , Sr. VP, Internet Architecture and Engineering MCI WorldCom, USA
David Farber
The Alfred Fitler Moore Professor of Telecommunication Systems University of Pennsylvania, USA
Edward R. Kozel , Member of The Board of Directors
Cisco Systems, Inc., USA
Peter Lothberg , Network Architect
Stupi AB, Sweden
Dr. Jun Murai , Professor, WIDE Project
Keio University, Japan
Dr. Deepinder Sidhu , Professor, Computer Science & Electrical Engineering, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Director, Maryland Center for Telecommunications Research, USA
Pindar Wong , Chairman and President
VeriFi Limited, Hong Kong

The Internet Protocol Journal is published quarterly by the Chief Technology Office, Cisco Systems, Inc.
Tel: +1 408 526-4000
Cisco, Cisco Systems, and the Cisco Systems logo are registered trademarks of Cisco Systems, Inc. in the USA and certain other countries. All other trademarks mentioned in this document are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright © 2000 Cisco Systems Inc. All rights reserved. Printed in the USA.