Fragments - The Internet Protocol Journal, Volume 11, No. 4

Itojun Service Award Launched

A new award, providing recognition and support for those progressing IPv6 development on the Internet, was announced in November. The Itojun Service Award honors the memory of Dr. Jun-ichiro "Itojun" Hagino, who passed away in 2007, aged just 37 [1]. The award, established by the friends of Itojun and administered by the Internet Society (ISOC), recognizes and commemorates the extraordinary dedication exercised by Itojun over the course of IPv6 development. Itojun worked as a Senior Researcher at the Internet Initiative Japan (IIJ), was a member of the board of the Widely Integrated Distributed Environment (WIDE) Project, and from 1998 to 2006 served on the groundbreaking KAME project in Japan as the "IPv6 Samurai." He was also a member of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) from 2003 to 2005.

At the time of his passing, Russ Housley, Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) Chair, and Olaf Kolkman, IAB Chair, issued a joint statement, praising Itojun's service to IPv6 developments, saying that he had "inspired many and will be missed."

The Itojun Service Award will run for 10 years, presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions in service to the IPv6 community. The award includes a presentation crystal, a US$3,000 honorarium, and a travel grant. The Award will honor an individual who has provided sustained and substantial technical contributions, service to the community, and leadership. With respect to leadership, the selection committee will place particular emphasis on candidates who have supported and enabled others in addition to their own specific actions.

The selection committee members for the Itojun Service Award are: Jun Murai, Hiroshi Esaki, Ole Jacobsen, Bob Hinden, Randy Bush, Bill Manning, Tatuya Jinmei, Kazu Yamamoto, and Kenjiro Cho.

Memorial donations to the Itojun Service Award Fund are welcomed and the Internet Society has established an account for donations. Details of the fund, as well as more information about Jun-ichiro "Itojun" Hagino and the Itojun Service Award are available on the ISOC Web site:

The WIDE Project has also established a Japanese bank account to collect donations in Japanese Yen, the details of which are available here:

[1] Hinden, Bob, "Remembering Itojun: The IPv6 Samurai," The Internet Protocol Journal, Volume 10, No. 4, December 2007.

EsLaRed Receives 10th Annual Postel Service Award

ISOC awarded the Jonathan B. Postel Service Award for 2008 to La Fundación Escuela Latinoamericana de Redes (EsLaRed) of Venezuela for its significant contributions to promote information technologies in Latin America and the Caribbean.

It is now ten years since the passing of Internet pioneer Jonathan B. Postel, the inspiration for this prestigious award. To mark this event in a special way, ISOC formed a 10th Anniversary Award Committee including all the past award recipients, which has formally recognised EsLaRed for "its sustained efforts to bring scientific, technical, and social progress in Latin America and the Caribbean through education, research, and development activities on technology transfer."

ISOC presented the award, including a US$20,000 honorarium and a crystal engraved globe, in November during the 73th meeting of the IETF in Minneapolis, USA.

Accepting the award for EsLaRed was its President, Professor Ermanno Pietrosemoli. "We're very excited to be honored in this way," said Professor Pietrosemoli. "In the developing world, having access to the Internet, which gives us access to things like scientific journals and medical information, is not easy and it is not taken for granted. It is wonderful for us to be able to help people improve their conditions and to see first hand how the Internet can change people's lives," he said.

"On behalf of the ISOC community, it is my great pleasure to congratulate Professor Pietrosemoli and his dedicated colleagues at EsLaRed for their achievements over the years," said Lynn St. Amour, President and CEO of ISOC. "EsLaRed's commitment to the Internet has been at the forefront of regional development and their leadership has been an instrumental element in forming today's dynamic Latin American and Caribbean Internet community," said Ms St. Amour. For more information about this year's recipient see:

The Postel Service Award was established by ISOC to honor individuals or organisations that, like Jon Postel, have made outstanding contributions in service to the data communications community. The award is focused on sustained and substantial technical contributions, service to the community, and leadership. Previous recipients of the Postel Award include Jon himself (posthumously and accepted by his mother), Scott Bradner, Daniel Karrenberg, Stephen Wolff, Peter Kirstein, Phill Gross, Jun Murai, Bob Braden and Joyce K. Reynolds (jointly), and Nii Quaynor. The award consists of an engraved crystal globe and a US$20,000 honorarium. For more information see: