Cisco Proximity Supplement

Note that this page is a supplement to the Cisco Privacy Statement. In order to understand the data collection and use practices relevant for a particular site or solution, you should read both the Cisco Privacy Statement and any applicable supplement.

Collection and Use of Information

By using the Cisco Proximity client (the "Client"), you accept that Cisco records certain information, including your Client's user agent identifier, a unique Client identifier, operating system type and version, system information and Client version. We also record de-identified information about your usage of the Client, including actions taken, date and time, frequency, duration, quantity, quality, and performance information related to proximity connections, clicks, use of contacts, content sharing, calls, and other feature usage information ("Usage Information"). Finally, we record a de-identified key of the endpoints you connect to (4 bytes of a SHA1-hash of the system name and IP address), as well as a SHA1-hash of the endpoint's serial number.

We use this information to understand how the Client is used, to diagnose problems, to respond to customer support requests, to conduct analytics and aggregate statistical analysis, and to improve the Client and other Cisco products and services.

Securing Your Information

The transport of all information between your client and our servers is secured with HTTPS.

Sharing Your Information

The information we collect is hosted by a third-party service called Splunk Cloud. Splunk Cloud have certified security technologies and procedures in place to ensure customer data is secure and protected: data separation, physical security within Amazon Web Services (AWS), encryption of data in transit and rest and role-based access control. For more information about how information is protected, please see this Splunk page: http://www.splunk.com/content/dam/splunk2/pdfs/technical-briefs/safeguarding-customer-data-in-splunk-cloud.pdf . All sharing of information is carried out consistent with the Cisco Privacy Statement. We do not rent or sell your information.

Mobile and Desktop Permissions

The Client makes use of a number of features available on mobile device and desktop platforms. Depending on which mobile or desktop platform you use and which features you use, your application may request or automatically obtain some or all of the following permissions:

Microphone/audio recording: To detect proximity to a collaboration endpoint by listening for ultrasound signals (inaudible to the human ear). The Client filters out all non-ultrasound frequencies, then processes small fragments of audio to decode a signature, and deletes all recordings when done processing. No audio is kept after processing on the Client, nor is it sent to Cisco. The Client only listens for ultrasound signals when the application is running.

Camera, media gallery, files and photos: To make it possible for you to share files and photos from your device to a collaboration endpoint you are connected to or to store captured content from the endpoint on your device.

Screen sharing: To present your screen on the collaboration endpoint and for other participants in the video meeting. Enabling this will capture content from your screen.

Calendar and contacts: To make it easier for you to connect with contacts and join scheduled meetings. This calendar and contact information is accessed only by the application locally on your mobile device and is not shared with Cisco.

Privacy in use

If you can hear speech from outside a room, for instance through an open door, your Client may be able to detect the ultrasound audio pairing message and initiate a connection.

The Client will show the system name of the collaboration endpoint it connects to. In addition, the endpoint will show an on-screen notification with an identifier of the devices connecting. This identifier is the device name on iOS, Windows and Mac and it is the user display name on Android.

The ultrasound signature emitted by an endpoint changes every 3 minutes and stays valid for 3 minutes. The Client must continuously listen for ultrasound signals and present a valid signature in order to keep the connection to the endpoint active. This means that the Client is automatically disconnected within 3 to 6 minutes when leaving the room. To actively disconnect the Client, the user can close the laptop lid or exit the Client application.