Cisco Location Appliance Configuration Guide, Release 5.1
Managing Location Server Users and Groups
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 107.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 3.02MB) | Feedback

Managing Location Server Users and Groups

Table Of Contents

Managing Location Server Users and Groups

Managing Groups

Adding User Groups

Deleting User Groups

Changing User Group Permissions

Managing Users

Adding Users

Deleting Users

Changing User Properties

Viewing Active User Sessions

Managing Host Access

Adding Host Access

Deleting Host Access

Editing Host Access


Managing Location Server Users and Groups


This chapter describes how to configure and manage users, groups, and hot access.

This chapter contains the following sections:

"Managing Groups" section

"Managing Users" section

"Managing Host Access" section

Managing Groups

This section describes how to add, delete, and edit user groups.

Adding User Groups

To add a user group to a location server, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to edit.

Step 3 Click Accounts (left).

Step 4 Click Groups.

Step 5 Choose Add Group from the Select a command drop-down menu and click GO.

Step 6 Enter the name of the group in the Group Name field.

Step 7 Choose a permission level from the Permission drop-down menu.

There are three permissions levels to choose from:

Read Access

Write Access

Full Access (required for Cisco WCS to access location servers)

Step 8 Click Save to add the new group to the location server.



Caution Group permissions override individual user permissions. For example, if you give a user full access permission and add that user to a group with read access permission, that user will not be able to configure location server settings.

Deleting User Groups

To delete user groups from a location servers, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to edit.

Step 3 Click Accounts (left).

Step 4 Click Groups.

Step 5 Check the check boxes of the groups that you want to delete.

Step 6 Choose Delete Group from the Select a command drop-down menu and click GO.

Step 7 Click OK to confirm that you want to delete the selected groups.


Changing User Group Permissions

To change user group permissions, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to edit.

Step 3 Click Accounts (left).

Step 4 Click Groups.

Step 5 Click the name of the group you want to edit.

Step 6 Choose a permission level from the Permission drop-down menu.

Step 7 Click Save to apply your change.



Caution Group permissions override individual user permissions. For example, if you give a user full access permission and add that user to a group with read access permission, that user will not be able to configure location server settings.

Managing Users

This section describes how to add, delete, and edit users. It also describes how to view active user sessions.

Adding Users

To add a users to a location server, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to edit.

Step 3 Click Accounts (left).

Step 4 Click Users.

Step 5 Choose Add User from the Select a command drop-down menu and click GO.

Step 6 Enter the username in the Username field.

Step 7 Enter a password in the Password field.

Step 8 Enter the name of the group to which the user belongs in the Group Name field.

Step 9 Choose a permission level from the Permission drop-down menu.

There are three permission levels to choose from: Read Access, Write Access, and Full Access (required for Cisco WCS to access location servers).


Caution Group permissions override individual user permissions. For example, if you give a user full access permission and add that user to a group with read access permission, that user will not be able to configure location server settings.

Step 10 Click Save to add the new user to the location server.


Deleting Users

To delete a user from a location server, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to edit.

Step 3 Click Accounts (left).

Step 4 Click Users.

Step 5 Check the check boxes of the users that you want to delete.

Step 6 Choose Delete User from the Select a command drop-down menu and click GO.

Step 7 Click OK to confirm that you want to delete the selected users.


Changing User Properties

To change user properties, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to edit.

Step 3 Click Accounts (left).

Step 4 Click Users.

Step 5 Click the name of the group that you want to edit.

Step 6 Make the required changes to the Password, Group Name, and Permission fields.

Step 7 Click Save to apply your change.


Viewing Active User Sessions

To view active user sessions, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server.

Step 3 Click Administration (left) to display the administrative configuration options.

Step 4 Click Active Sessions.

Cisco WCS displays a list of active location server sessions. For every session, Cisco WCS displays the following information:

Session identifier

IP address from which the location server is accessed

Username of the connected user

Date and time when the session started

Date and time when the location server was last accessed

How long the session was idle since it was last accessed


Managing Host Access

This section describes how to add, delete, and edit host access records.

Adding Host Access

You can use Cisco WCS to add host access records to the location server database. Using host access records, you can control which hosts have access to the location server and when. You can also control access preference by assigning priorities to host access.

To add a new host access record, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to configure.

Step 3 Click Accounts.

Step 4 Click Host Access.

Step 5 Choose Add Host Access from the Select a command drop-down menu and click GO.

Step 6 Enter the IP address and netmask of the host using the ddd.ddd.ddd.ddd./dd format.

Following are examples of IP address and netmask entries:

IP Address/Netmask
Description

120.10.0.0/8

Specifies hosts on a class A subnet (120.x.x.x).

120.10.0.0/16

Specifies hosts on a class B subnet (120.10.x.x).

120.10.223.0/16

Specifies hosts on a class C subnet (120.10.223.x).

120.10.223.10/32

Specifies a single host (120.10.223.10).


Step 7 To allow host access, check the Enable check box of the Permit field.

To deny host access, do not check the Enable check box.

Step 8 Enter a priority number from 0 to 99999 in the Priority field.

Hosts with high priority have access preference over hosts with low priority.

Step 9 Enter the time of day when the host may access the location server in the Start Access fields.

In the Hrs. field, enter a value from 0 to 23. In the Mins. field, enter a value from 0 to 59.

Step 10 Enter the time of day when host access ends in the End Access fields.

In the Hrs. field, enter a value from 0 to 23. In the Mins. field, enter a value from 0 to 59.

Step 11 Click Save to add the new host access to the location server.


Deleting Host Access

To delete a host access record, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to configure.

Step 3 Click Accounts (left).

Step 4 Click Users.

Step 5 Check the check boxes of the host access records that you want to delete.

Step 6 Choose Delete Host Access from the Select a command drop-down menu and click GO.

Step 7 Click OK to confirm that you want to delete the selected host access records.


Editing Host Access

To edit a host access record, follow these steps:


Step 1 In Cisco WCS, choose Location > Location Servers.

Step 2 Click the name of the location server you want to configure.

Step 3 Click Accounts (left).

Step 4 Click Host Access.

Step 5 Click the name of the host access that you want to modify.

Step 6 Make the required changes to the Permit, Priority, Start Access, and End Access fields.

Step 7 Click Save to apply your changes.