Occasionally, you may receive a message known as a broadcast message from your Cisco Unity administrator, network administrator, or management personnel in your organization. Broadcast messages are recorded announcements sent to specific groups or to everyone in your organization.
For example, your Cisco Unity administrator may record a broadcast message to ask all Cisco Unity subscribers to change their phone passwords, or a Human Resources manager may send a broadcast message to remind you about a deadline for a new benefits package.
Cisco Unity plays broadcast messages immediately after you log on to Cisco Unity. You must listen to each broadcast message in its entirety before Cisco Unity will allow you to check new and saved messages or to change setup options. Once you have played a broadcast message, it is permanently deleted for you. You cannot respond to or save system broadcast messages.
Broadcast messages do not trigger message waiting indicators on your phone. They also do not trigger message notifications for any alternate devices—such as a pager or cell phone—that you may have set up.