Cisco Unified Operating System Maintenance Guide for Cisco Unified Presence Release 8.0, 8.5, and 8.6
Shutting Down and Restarting the Cisco Unified Operating System
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 179.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 1.17MB) | Feedback

Shutting Down and Restarting the Cisco Unified Operating System

Table Of Contents

Shutting Down and Restarting the Cisco Unified Operating System

Shutting Down the System

How to Work with Disk Partitions

Reverting a Cisco Unified Presence Node to a Previous Version

Restarting the Current Version


Shutting Down and Restarting the Cisco Unified Operating System


You may need to choose from the following options to shut down or restart the system:

Shutdown—Stops all running software and shuts down the server.

Switch Versions—Switches the active and inactive disk partitions and restarts the system. You normally select this option after the inactive partition has been updated and you want to start running a newer software version.

Restart—Restarts the system without switching partitions.


Note To power down the server, press the power button. Note, however, that this action may lead to file system corruption and is not recommended.


Shutting Down the System

How to Work with Disk Partitions

Shutting Down the System

Procedure


Step 1 Sign in to Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration.

Step 2 Select Settings > Version.

Step 3 Perform one of the following actions:

a. Select Shutdown to halt all processes and shut down the system.

b. Select Cancel to stop the operation.


Troubleshooting Tips

The hardware does not power down automatically. If you press the power button on the server, the system will immediately shut down.

What To Do Next

How to Work with Disk Partitions

How to Work with Disk Partitions

Reverting a Cisco Unified Presence Node to a Previous Version

Restarting the Current Version

Reverting a Cisco Unified Presence Node to a Previous Version

When you are upgrading to a newer software version and when you need to fall back to an earlier software version, you can shut down the system that is running on the active disk partition and then automatically restart the system using the software version on the inactive partition. The software version running on both the active and inactive partitions is indicated.


Caution This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.

Before You Begin

Upgrade the database on the active partition. The database on the inactive partition does not get updated. If you make changes to the database after an upgrade, you must repeat those changes after switching the partition.

Procedure


Step 1 Sign in to Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration.

Step 2 Select Settings > Version.

Step 3 Perform one of the following actions:

a. Select Switch Versions to switch versions and restart the system.

b. Select Cancel to stop the operation.


Troubleshooting Tips

If you select Switch Versions, the system restarts, and the partition that is currently inactive becomes active.

After you verify that you want to restart the system, the system restarts, which might take up to 15 minutes.

Related Topics

Upgrading Software in Cisco Unified Operating System

Restarting the Current Version

You can restart the system on the current partition without switching versions.


Caution This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.

Before You Begin

Shut down the system on which the active version is running.

Procedure


Step 1 Sign in to Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration.

Step 2 Select Settings > Version.

Step 3 Perform one of the following actions:

a. Select Restart to restart the system.

b. Select Cancel to stop the operation.


Troubleshooting Tips

If you select Restart, the system restarts on the current partition without switching versions.

Related Topics

Shutting Down the System