Administration Guide for Cisco Business Edition 3000, Release 8.6(4)
Connection Groups
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 363.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 5.69MB) | Feedback

Connection Groups

Connection Groups

The Connection Groups page (Connections > Connection Groups) allows you to configure and manage connection groups to route PSTN calls on the Cisco Business Edition 3000.

Table 1 describes the settings on the Connection Groups page (Connections > Connection Groups). Click Connection Groups to view the configured connection groups for use with the Cisco Business Edition 3000.

Table 1 Settings on the Connection Groups Page

Settings

Description

Name

Specifies the unique name of the connection group.

This name cannot exceed 47 characters and can contain only alphanumeric characters, periods (.), underscores (_), hyphens (-), or space ( ).

By default, there are 2 system-generated connection groups:
  • All Connections—A system-generated connection group, which includes all the gateways in the system, listed in the order of SIP connections, MGCP connections, PRI connections, CAS connections and SPA analog gateways.
  • <<Sitename>> Connections—A system-generated connection group formed after migration to Release 8.6.4, which includes all the gateways on that site before migration. By default, each site uses its respective connection group. When a new site is created, the All Connections connection group is created by the system and will be used as a default connection group.

Description

Specifies the description of the connection group.

The description can include up to 128 characters, but it cannot include quotation marks ("), percentage sign (%), ampersand (&), backslash (\), or angle brackets (<>).

Note   

The description for All Connections is system-generated and you cannot modify the description.

PSTN Connections

Specifies the number of PSTN connections selected to be a part of the connection group.

Actions

You can perform the following actions on the connection groups:
  • View—Click to view the list of all connections that are a part of the All Connections group. This is a system-generated connection group and includes all connections added into the system, in the same order as configured.
    Note   

    This option is available for the All Connections group only. You cannot edit or delete this connection group.

  • Edit—Click to edit the settings of the corresponding connection group. Refer to the parameters explained under the Add Connection Group Information for editing the connection groups.
    Note   

    If the connection group is empty, calls from site will not work correctly.

  • Delete—Click to delete the connection group from Cisco Business Edition 3000.
    Note   

    A connection group may be used to route calls in a particular site. If you delete a connection group and if there are no other connection groups on the site, the PSTN calls will not be routed properly.

Add Connection Group

Click to add a new connection group.

Note   

If the connection group is empty, calls from site will not work correctly.

Add Connection Group Information

General Information

Name

Enter the name for the connection group.

Description

Enter the description for the corresponding connection group.

PSTN Connections Information

Calls will be routed in top-down order within the connection group. Move preferred PSTN connections to the top of the list of selected connections.

This option allows you to choose from a list of gateways added to your system to be used for routing PSTN calls made from phones placed in this site. You can order the selected PSTN connections you wish to use.

Add

Select the required connection and click Add to route the PSTN calls.

Remove

Select the connection in the required area and click Remove to remove the connection group.

Add All

Click Add All to select and add all the available PSTN connections.

Remove All

Click Remove All to select and remove all the selected PSTN connections.

Save

Click Save to save your changes.

Reset

Click Reset to discard your changes and display the saved data.

OK

Click OK to configure a new connection group to route the PSTN calls.

Cancel

Click Cancel to discard the configuration.