Administration Guide for Cisco Business Edition 3000, Release 8.6(4)
Restart/Shutdown Settings
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 321.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 5.69MB) | Feedback

Restart/Shutdown Settings

Restart/Shutdown Settings

GUI: Cisco Business Edition 3000 Administrative Interface

In the Restart/Shutdown page, you can view the Cisco Business Edition 3000 software version that is installed on the server, you can restart (reboot) or shut down the server, or you can switch from the active to inactive version (or vice versa) of software that is installed on your server. The following table describes the settings that display on the Restart/Shutdown page (Maintenance > Restart/Shutdown).


Caution


Cisco recommends that you do not press the power button on the server to shut down or to restart the server unless you absolutely need to do so. If you do so, you may accidentally corrupt the file system, which may prevent you from being able to reboot your server.


Table 1 Settings on the Restart/Shutdown page

Setting

Description

Active Version and Inactive Version

The active version, which is read only, is the current installed version of Cisco Business Edition 3000 software that is running on your server. The inactive version, which is also read only, is the previously installed version of Cisco Business Edition 3000 software on your server. The inactive version does not display if no previous version exists.

Restart

To stop all processes on the server and then have the server restart, click Restart.

When you restart the server, calls in progress may drop because the phones unregister from the system, register with the system, and then restart.

Shutdown

When you click Shutdown, the server stops all processes, shuts down, and does not restart. In addition, the phones unregister, power down, and do not restart. All calls in progress drop.

Switch Version

Click Switch Version when you are finished upgrading to a newer software version or when you need to fall back to the previously installed software version.

Tip   

Clicking Switch Version causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service. Clicking Switch Version may drop calls that are in progress.

If you click Switch Version, the system restarts, and the version that is currently inactive becomes active.

Note   

The system takes approximately 60 minutes to switch versions after the upgrade, and almost 30 minutes for subsequent switches of versions.