Administration Guide for Cisco Business Edition 3000, Release 8.6(3)
Add or Edit Call Pickup Group Settings
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 342.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 4.91MB) | Feedback

Add or Edit Call Pickup Group Settings

Add or Edit Call Pickup Group Settings

In the Cisco Business Edition 3000 Administrative Interface, you can add, edit, and delete call pickup groups.

The system defines a call pickup group as a group of users or departments that is designed to pick up calls to any user or department within this group or in an associated group. A user or department can be associated with multiple pickup groups. Each group has a unique number, known as a Group Pickup Number, which allows any authorized user or department to pick up a call by entering this number. For authorization, the user or department must be in either the same or an associated pickup group and should know the Group Pickup Number.


Note


Soft clients like webex connect and cucirtx do not support multiple call pickup groups.


Table 1 describes the settings on the Add or Edit Call Pickup Groups page (Users/Phones > Call Pickup Groups).

Table 1 Settings on the Add or Edit Call Pickup Group Page

Setting

Description

General

Name

Enter the unique identification name of the call pickup group. This name cannot exceed 100 characters and can only contain alphanumeric characters, periods (.), underscores (_), hyphens(-) or space ( ).

Extension

Enter the pickup extension number. By default, the system generates an extension in the range specified based on the call pickup groups range mentioned on the dial plan page. The user can change this extension number to another one in the specified range.

For example, if the feature code is:

  • 3, then the extension number will be in the range 320-339 for a 3-digit dial plan.
  • 3, then the extension number will be in the range 3200-3299 for a 4-digit dial plan.
  • 5, then the extension number will be in the range 52000-52099 for a 5-digit dial plan.

Users and Departments

Available

Displays the following information about all users and departments that are not included in the current pickup group:

  • Last Name/Department—Last name in the case of a user or the department name in the case of the latter.
  • First Name —First name of the user.
  • User/Department ID—Unique identity of the user or department.
  • Assigned Call Pickup Group —Specifies the pickup group to which the user or department belongs.

Users or departments can be assigned only to a single pickup group. Therefore, whenever a user or department is assigned a new pickup group, the new group replaces the previously assigned group.

Add

Move the selected user or department from the Available list to the Selected list. To preserve the change, click Save ; otherwise, click Reset .

Remove

Remove the selected user or department from the Selected list and move it back to the Available list.

Selected

Displays the details of all users and departments that are associated with the current pickup group.

  • Last Name/Department —Last name in the case of a user or the department name in the case of the latter.
  • First Name —First name of the user.
  • User/Department ID —Unique identity of the user or department.
  • Assigned Call Pickup Group —Specifies the pickup group to which the user or department belongs.
Note   

Barge requires the use of shared lines. You must set up shared lines between the participants for barge to work. A message displays the number of users or departments that are assigned to this pickup group that do not have Call Pickup enabled in their Usage Profile. Click the Show Alllink to view the detailed list of these users and departments. If there are no such pickup groups, this message does not appear.

Notifications

Alert Policy

Choose among No Alert , Audio Alert , Visual Alert , or Audio and Visual Alert as the mode of alerting the user or department about a call pickup.

Timer

Enter the desired delay (in seconds) between the call first coming in to the original called party and the alert notification to the rest of the pickup group. This value can vary from 1 to 300.

Monitored Groups

Available

Displays pickup groups that are not monitored by the current group.

Selected

Displays pickup groups that are monitored by the current group.

Note   

Each group can monitor only up to 10 pickup groups including itself. A message displays the number of pickup groups that are monitoring the current group. Click the Show All link to view the details of these monitoring groups. If there are no such groups, this message does not appear.

Tip: Click the > or < button to move the selected group from the Available list to the Selected list or vice versa.

Tip: The priority in which the pickup is handled can be determined by ordering the groups accordingly in the Selected monitored groups list. The higher a group is in the Selected list, the higher the priority it has for pickup and vice versa.

Save

Click to save the updated settings.

Reset

Click to discard unsaved changes.