This section describes how to manually purge selected records from the CAR database and how to delete all of the CAR data and reload the database with new CDR data. You may want to reload the database to reclassify calls after dial-plan updates, user-device association changes, call rate changes, and so on.
Before you begin to manually purge data, disable the CDR Loader.
Manual purging of the CDRs gets stopped if the CAR Web Service is stopped during the manual purge process. Manual purging cannot begin again until the CAR Web Service restarts. Then you must begin the manual purge process again.
There are two ways to intentionally stop the CAR Web Service:
Deactivate the CAR Web Service in the Serviceability Service Activation window ( ).
Stop the CAR Web Service in the Feature Services window of the Serviceability Control Center ( ).
The CDR Loader cannot begin again until either the CAR Web Service or the CAR Scheduler gets restarted.
A CAR administrator can no longer generate CAR reports when a manual purge of the CAR database is in process or CDR records are reloading. The following error message displays when you try to run reports during these processes:
10023: Manual Purge/Reload is in process. Please run the reports once the Manual Purge/Reload is over.
Both the Purge button and the Reload All Call Detail Records button get disabled, and the following alert message displays on the Manual Purge window, when either a manual purge or CDR reload occurs:
Manual Purge/Reload is still running. User will not be allowed to run another instance of Manual Purge/Reload. So, both Purge and Reload All Call Detail Records buttons are disabled.