Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration Guide, Release 9.1(1)
Shutdown and restart
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 1.05MB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 3.22MB) | Feedback

Shutdown and restart

Shutdown and restart

You may need to choose from the following options to shut down or restart the system:

  • Shutdown—Stops all running software and shuts down the server.
  • Switch Versions—Switches the active and inactive disk partitions and restarts the system. You normally select this option after the inactive partition has been updated and you want to start running a newer software version.
  • Restart—Restarts the system without switching partitions.

Note


To power down the server, press the power button. Note, however, that this action may lead to file system corruption and is not recommended.


Shut down system

Procedure
    Step 1   Sign in to Cisco Unified IM and Presence Operating System Administration.
    Step 2   Select Settings > Version.
    Step 3   Perform one of the following actions:
    1. Select Shutdown to halt all processes and shut down the system.
    2. Select Cancel to stop the operation.

      The hardware does not power down automatically. If you press the power button on the server, the system will immediately shut down.


    What to Do Next

    Work with disk partitions

    Work with disk partitions

    Revert IM and Presence node to previous version

    When you are upgrading to a newer software version and when you need to fall back to an earlier software version, you can shut down the system that is running on the active disk partition and then automatically restart the system using the software version on the inactive partition. The software version running on both the active and inactive partitions is indicated.


    Caution


    This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.


    Before You Begin

    Upgrade the database on the active partition. The database on the inactive partition does not get updated. If you make changes to the database after an upgrade, you must repeat those changes after switching the partition.

    Procedure
      Step 1   Sign in to Cisco Unified IM and Presence Operating System Administration.
      Step 2   Select Settings > Version.
      Step 3   Perform one of the following actions:
      1. Select Switch Versions to switch versions and restart the system.
        • The system restarts, and the partition that is currently inactive becomes active.
        • After you verify that you want to restart the system, the system restarts, which might take up to 15 minutes.
      2. Select Cancel to stop the operation.

      Related Information

      Restart current version

      You can restart the system on the current partition without switching versions.


      Caution


      This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.


      Before You Begin

      Shut down the system on which the active version is running.

      Procedure
        Step 1   Sign in to Cisco Unified IM and Presence Operating System Administration.
        Step 2   Select Settings > Version.
        Step 3   Perform one of the following actions:
        1. Select Restart to restart the system.

          The system restarts on the current partition without switching versions.

        2. Select Cancel to stop the operation.

        Related Tasks