Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration Guide, Release 9.1(1)
System Restart
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 1.17MB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 3.24MB) | Feedback

System Restart

System Restart

This chapter provides procedures for using the restart options.

Switch Software Versions

You can use this option both when you are upgrading to a newer software version and when you need to fall back to an earlier software version. To shut down the system that is running on the active disk partition and then automatically restart the system by using the software version on the inactive partition, follow this procedure:


Note


If you downgrade a cluster to a nonsecure previous release of Cisco Unified Communications Manager (prior to release 8.0), you must prepare the cluster for rollback before you switch versions. If you do not prepare the cluster for rollback before you revert to a previous release, you have to manually delete the ITL file on each Cisco Unified IP Phone in the system. For more information, see the Cisco Unified Communications Manager Security Guide.

Caution


This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.


Procedure
    Step 1   From the Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration window, navigate to Settings > Version.

    The Version Settings window, which shows the software version on both the active and inactive partitions, displays.

    Step 2   To switch versions and restart, click Switch Versions. To stop the operation, click Cancel.

    If you click Switch Versions, the system restarts, and the partition that is currently inactive becomes active.


    Restart Current Version

    To restart the system on the current partition without switching versions, follow this procedure:


    Caution


    This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.


    Procedure
      Step 1   From the Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration window, navigate to Settings > Version.

      The Version Settings window, which shows the software version on both the active and inactive partitions, displays.

      Step 2   To restart the system, click Restart or, to stop the operation, click Cancel.

      If you click Restart, the system restarts on the current partition without switching versions.


      Shut Down System


      Caution


      Do not press the power button on the server to shut down the server or to reboot the server. If you do, you may accidentally corrupt the file system, which may prevent you from being able to reboot your server.


      To shut down the system, follow Procedure 1 or Procedure 2.


      Caution


      This procedure causes the system to shut down.


      Procedure
      Perform one of the following:
      1. Shut down the system from the Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration window.
        1. Navigate to Settings > Version. The Version Settings window displays, which shows the software version on both the active and inactive partitions.
        2. Click Shutdown to shut down the system, or click Cancel to stop the operation. If you click Shutdown, the system halts all processes and shuts down.
      2. Shut down the system using the CLI. Run the CLI command utils system shutdown or the command utils system restart.

        For information on how to run CLI commands, refer to the Command Line Interface Reference Guide for Cisco Unifed Communications Solutions.