Cisco Unified Communications Manager Bulk Administration Guide, Release 9.1(1)
User deletions
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 260.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 6.68MB) | Feedback

User deletions

User deletions

This chapter provides information to delete a group of users from the Cisco Unified Communications Manager directory. You can locate existing user records to delete using either a query search or a custom file.

Delete users using query

You can create a query filter to locate the user records for the users that you want to delete.


Caution


The delete action is final. You cannot retrieve deleted records.


Procedure
    Step 1   Choose Bulk Administration > Users > Delete Users > Query.

    The Delete Users Configuration window displays.

    Step 2   From the first Find User where drop-down list box, choose one of the following criteria:
    • User ID
    • First Name
    • Middle Name
    • Last Name
    • Manager
    • Department Name

    From the second Find User where drop-down list box, choose one of the following criteria:

    • begins with
    • contains
    • is exactly
    • ends with
    • is empty
    • is not empty
    Step 3   Specify the appropriate search text, if applicable.
    Tip   

    To find all users that are registered in the database, click Find without entering any search text.

    Step 4   To further define your query and to add multiple filters, check the Search Within Results check box, choose AND or OR from the drop-down box, and repeat Step 2 and Step 3.
    Step 5   Click Find.

    A list of discovered templates displays by:

    • User ID
    • First Name
    • Middle Name
    • Last Name
    • Manager
    • Department Name
    • LDAP Sync Status
    Step 6   In the Job Information area, enter the Job description.
    Step 7   Choose a method to delete user records. Do one of the following:
    1. Click Run Immediately to delete user records immediately.
    2. Click Run Later to delete the user records at a later time.
    Caution   

    The delete action is final. You cannot retrieve deleted records.

    Step 8   To create a job for deleting the user records, click Submit. To schedule and/or activate this job, use the Job Scheduler option in the Bulk Administration main menu.

    Related References

    Delete users using custom file

    To locate and delete users, you can create a custom file of user IDs by using a text editor.

    Note


    Do not use the insert or export transaction files that are created with bat.xlt for the delete transaction. Instead, you must create a custom file with details of the user records that need to be deleted. Use only this file for the delete transaction. In this custom delete file, you do not need a header, and you can enter values for user ID.



    Caution


    The delete action is final. You cannot retrieve deleted records.


    Before You Begin
    1. Create a text file that lists each user ID that you want to delete on a separate line.
    2. Upload the custom file with the first node of the Cisco Unified Communications Manager server.
    Procedure
      Step 1   Choose Bulk Administration > Users > Delete Users > Custom File.

      The Find and List Users - Delete Users Based on Custom File window displays.

      Step 2   In Delete Users where drop-down list box, choose one of the following criteria:
      • User ID
      • First Name
      • Middle Name
      • Last Name
      • Department
      Step 3   In the Custom file where drop-down list box, choose the filename for the custom file.
      Step 4   To check that the query includes the information that you need, click Find.
      Step 5   In the Job Information area, enter the Job description.
      Step 6   Choose a method to delete user records. Do one of the following:
      1. Click Run Immediately to delete user records immediately.
      2. Click Run Later to delete the user records at a later time.
      Caution   

      The delete action is final. You cannot retrieve deleted records.

      Step 7   To create a job for deleting the user records, click Submit. To schedule and/or activate this job, use the Job Scheduler option in the Bulk Administration main menu.

      Related References