User Moves, Adds, and Changes Guide for Cisco Unity Connection Release 9.x
Adding, Modifying, or Deleting a Class of Service in Cisco Unity Connection 9.x
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 88.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 2.16MB) | Feedback

Table of Contents

Adding, Modifying, or Deleting a Class of Service in Cisco Unity Connection 9.x

Default Classes of Service

Adding a Class of Service

Modifying the Settings for a Class of Service

Assigning and Reassigning Users to a Class of Service

Deleting a Class of Service

Adding, Modifying, or Deleting a Class of Service in Cisco Unity Connection 9.x

A class of service (COS) defines limits and permissions for accounts with voice mailboxes. For example, a COS:

  • Controls user access to licensed features such as the Web Inbox or Messaging Inbox. (When a COS includes access to a feature that requires individual licenses, you can assign groups of users to the COS only if enough licenses are available.)
  • Controls user access to non-licensed features such as personal call transfer rules.
  • Controls how users interact with Cisco Unity Connection. For example, a COS dictates the maximum length of user messages and greetings, and whether users can choose to be listed in the corporate directory.
  • Controls call transfer options.
  • Specifies the number of private distribution lists allowed to users, and the number of members allowed on each list.
  • Specifies the restriction tables used to control the phone numbers that users can use for transfers and when placing calls.

A COS is not specified for the individual accounts or templates that are associated with users without voice mailboxes (typically, these are administrator accounts). Permissions associated with administrator accounts are instead controlled by roles in Unity Connection Administration. (See the “Roles” section for more details.)

See the following sections:

Default Classes of Service

Unity Connection includes the following predefined classes of service that you can modify but not delete:

 

Voicemail User COS

Contains settings that are applicable to end users. By default, this COS is associated with the default Voicemail User template.

System

A COS that special default user accounts are members of. This COS is read-only and cannot be modified or deleted.

Adding a Class of Service

To Create a Class of Service


Step 1 In Cisco Unity Connection Administration, expand Class of Service and select Class of Service .

Step 2 On the Search Class of Service page, select Add New .

Step 3 On the New Class of Service page, enter settings as applicable and select Save .


 

Modifying the Settings for a Class of Service

You can modify the settings for a COS at any time. Changes to the settings in a COS—including features for which you need user licenses—affect new and existing members of the COS. For example, if members of the COS currently have access to a licensed feature and you change the COS to remove access to the feature, the next time those users sign in to Unity Connection, they are unable to access the feature.

To Modify the Settings for a Class of Service


Step 1 In Cisco Unity Connection Administration, expand Class of Service and select Class of Service .

Step 2 On the Search Class of Service page, select the display name of the applicable class of service. To select more than one COS, check the applicable class of service check boxes, and select Bulk Edit .

Step 3 On the Edit Class of Service page, change settings as applicable. For details on the features and functionality available for classes of service, see the “Setting Up Features and Functionality Controlled by Class of Service in Cisco Unity Connection 9.x” chapter.


Note If applicable, set the Bulk Edit Task Scheduling Fields to schedule the Bulk Edit operation for a later date and/or time and select Submit.


Step 4 Select Save .


 

Assigning and Reassigning Users to a Class of Service

A COS is specified in each user template; thus, a user is assigned to the COS that is specified in the template on which the user account is based. If you find that the settings for a particular COS are no longer appropriate for an individual user or several users, you can reassign the users to another COS at any time. (Changing the COS that is specified in a template does not affect user accounts that have already been created.)


Note When a COS includes access to a feature that requires individual licenses, you can assign groups of users to the COS only if enough licenses are available.


See the following sections:

To Assign or Reassign a User to a Class of Service


Step 1 In Cisco Unity Connection Administration, expand Users and select Users .

Step 2 On the Search Users page, in the Search Results table, select the alias of the applicable user.

Step 3 On the Edit User Basics page, in the Class of Service list, select the applicable class of service.

Step 4 Select Save .


 

To Reassign Multiple Users to a Class of Service


Step 1 In Cisco Unity Connection Administration, expand Class of Service , then select Class of Service Membership .

Step 2 On the Search Class of Service Members page, set parameters in the Find Class of Service Members fields according to the COS from which you want to move users, then select Find .

Step 3 In the Class of Service Members Search Results table, check the check boxes to the left of the user aliases that you want to move to another COS. You can move up to 25 users at one time.

Step 4 In the To list, select the name of the COS to which you want to move the users that you selected in Step 3.

Step 5 Select Move Selected User .


 

Deleting a Class of Service

Before you can delete a COS, you first must reassign any members of that COS to another COS.

To Delete a Class of Service


Step 1 In Cisco Unity Connection Administration, expand Class of Service and select Class of Service Membership .

Step 2 On the Search Class of Service Members page, set parameters in the Find Class of Service Members fields according to the class of service you want to delete, then select Find .

Step 3 In the Class of Service Members Search Results table, check the check boxes to the left of the user aliases that you want to move to another class of service.

Step 4 In the To list, select the name of the class of service to which you want to move the users that you selected in Step 3.

Step 5 Select Move Selected User .

Step 6 Repeat Step 3 through Step 5 until the Class of Service Members Search Results table shows there are no members in the class of service that you want to delete.


Note You may need to select Refresh for changes to be reflected in the Search Results table.


Step 7 Expand Class of Service , then select Class of Service .

Step 8 On the Search Class of Service page, check the check box to the left of the display name of the class of service that you want to delete.

Step 9 Select Delete Selected and OK to confirm the deletion.