User Moves, Adds, and Changes Guide for Cisco Unity Connection Release 8.x
Moving or Migrating Users Between Locations in Cisco Unity Connection 8.x
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 93.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 4.73MB) | Feedback

Moving or Migrating Users Between Locations in Cisco Unity Connection 8.x

Table Of Contents

Moving or Migrating Users Between Locations in Cisco Unity Connection 8.x

Moving One or Several Users Between Networked Cisco Unity Connection 8.5 Locations

Migrating Users Between Cisco Unity Connection 8.0 or Earlier Locations, Migrating Users Between Connection Locations That Are Not Networked, or Migrating Large Groups of Users from One Location to Another

Task List for Migrating Users by Using COBRAS Briefcase Mode


Moving or Migrating Users Between Locations in Cisco Unity Connection 8.x


Added November 16, 2010

Occasionally, you may need to move one or more user accounts from one Connection server or cluster to another, for load balancing or other reasons. Or, you may need to migrate many or all of the users from one server or cluster to another. In this chapter, the server or cluster from which you move users is referred to as the source location, and the server or cluster to which you move the users is referred to as the target location.

See the following sections:

Moving One or Several Users Between Networked Cisco Unity Connection 8.5 Locations

Migrating Users Between Cisco Unity Connection 8.0 or Earlier Locations, Migrating Users Between Connection Locations That Are Not Networked, or Migrating Large Groups of Users from One Location to Another


Note The information in this chapter is not applicable to Cisco Unified Communications Manager Business Edition (CMBE).


Moving One or Several Users Between Networked Cisco Unity Connection 8.5 Locations


Note The information in this section is not applicable to Cisco Unified Communications Manager Business Edition (CMBE).


To move users with voice mailboxes between Cisco Unity Connection 8.5 locations (where a location represents either a server or cluster on the network), you use Cisco Object Backup and Restore Application Suite (COBRAS) Hot Mode. Hot Mode moves the user profile information and the user mailbox (including all new and saved voice messages, but not including deleted voice messages, receipts, faxes or email messages) from the source location to the target location. In the process, information about the moved users is modified on both the source and target locations, and when replication is complete, all locations in the site or organization are appropriately updated. To use Hot Mode, both the source and target locations must be running Connection 8.5 or later, and the locations must be networked via intrasite or intersite networking.

Hot Mode is designed to be used on a single user or a small group of users at a time. Compared to COBRAS Briefcase Mode, Hot Mode has the advantage of preserving relationships between objects (for example, other users' private distribution lists and personal call transfer rules that reference the user being moved are updated automatically to point to the new location). However, Hot Mode moves can be slow. If you need to move large groups of users or migrate servers and are not concerned about preserving such relationships, consider using the COBRAS Briefcase Mode method explained in the "Migrating Users Between Cisco Unity Connection 8.0 or Earlier Locations, Migrating Users Between Connection Locations That Are Not Networked, or Migrating Large Groups of Users from One Location to Another" section. If you are concerned about preserving such relationships, split large groups of users into small batches when using Hot Mode.

To use Hot Mode, download the latest version of COBRAS, and view training videos and Help at http://www.ciscounitytools.com/Applications/General/COBRAS/COBRAS.html.


Caution Before moving users, read the COBRAS help file and the COBRAS Hot Mode for Connection to Connection help file carefully and thoroughly.

Migrating Users Between Cisco Unity Connection 8.0 or Earlier Locations, Migrating Users Between Connection Locations That Are Not Networked, or Migrating Large Groups of Users from One Location to Another


Note The information in this section is not applicable to Cisco Unified Communications Manager Business Edition (CMBE).


If either the source or target server is running a Connection version earlier than 8.5, or if the locations are not networked via intrasite or intersite networking, you use Briefcase Mode in the Cisco Object Backup and Restore Application Suite (COBRAS) tool to move users with voice mailboxes. Rather than moving all pertinent objects from one location to another and cleaning up the original location automatically, Briefcase Mode requires that you copy information from the source location, remove the objects, and then restore them on the target location.

When migrating users in Briefcase Mode, you can choose whether to copy the user voice names and voice messages.

Task List for Migrating Users by Using COBRAS Briefcase Mode

Use the following high-level task list to migrate users in Briefcase Mode:

1. Download the latest version of COBRAS, and view training videos and Help at http://www.ciscounitytools.com/Applications/General/COBRAS/COBRAS.html.


Caution Before migrating users, read the COBRAS help file and the COBRAS Briefcase Mode help file carefully and thoroughly.

2. Back up the source and target locations by using the Disaster Recovery System. The source backup will not be used to restore data on the target location; we recommend backing up each location only so you can revert to the previous state of the location if necessary. For more information, see the Disaster Recovery System Administration Guide for Cisco Unity Connection Release 8.x at http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/connection/8x/drs_administration/guide/8xcucdrsag.html.

3. Use COBRAS Briefcase Mode to export the users to be moved from the source location. See the COBRAS Briefcase Mode help file for instructions.

4. If the source and target locations are connected via any type of networking, delete the users to be moved from the source location. To delete accounts one at a time, see the "Deleting Individual User Accounts in Cisco Unity Connection 8.x" section. To delete multiple accounts at once by using the Bulk Administration Tool, see the "Deleting User Accounts in Cisco Unity Connection 8.x" section.


Note If the source and target are connected via any type of networking, it is critical that you delete the users and verify that the deletion has completed on all networked locations before importing the users on the target location.


5. Use COBRAS Briefcase Mode to import users on the target location. See the COBRAS Briefcase Mode help file for instructions.

6. If you did not delete the original user accounts from the source location in Task 4., delete them now. To delete accounts one at a time, see the "Deleting Individual User Accounts in Cisco Unity Connection 8.x" section. To delete multiple accounts at once by using the Bulk Administration Tool, see the "Deleting User Accounts in Cisco Unity Connection 8.x" section.