User Guide for the Cisco Unity Connection Phone Interface (Release 8.x)
Managing Deleted Messages
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 343.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 1.53MB) | Feedback

Managing Deleted Messages

Managing Deleted Messages

About Deleted Messages

Cisco Unity Connection saves your deleted messages; you can play, restore, or permanently delete them.

Permanently Deleting Deleted Messages

Deleting messages can be an important way to reduce the size of your mailbox, especially when Cisco Unity Connection is not set up to automatically delete messages once they reach a certain age.

Ask your Connection administrator if the system is set up to enforce a message-retention policy. Connection does not indicate when a message-retention policy is enforced, nor does it warn you before messages are permanently deleted as a result of such a policy. If Connection is not set up to do so, make sure that you permanently delete messages periodically.

Permanently Deleting Messages by Using the Phone Keypad

Procedure
Step 1   Call and sign in to Connection.
Step 2   At the Main menu, select the option Review Old Messages, then Deleted Messages.
Step 3   Follow the prompts to review your deleted messages and delete them individually, or to delete all messages at once.

Permanently Deleting Messages by Using Voice Commands

Procedure
Step 1   Call and sign in to Connection.
Step 2   When Connection asks what you want to do, say:

"Empty Deleted Items folder" to permanently delete all deleted messages. Say "Yes" when Connection prompts you to confirm the action.

Or

"Play deleted messages" to permanently delete messages one by one. After you have listened to a message, say "Delete" to permanently delete it. To skip to the next message without deleting the current message, say "Next."


Checking Deleted Messages

You can play your deleted messages, just as you can play new and saved messages. You can also restore a deleted message as a new or saved message.

By default, the most recent messages are played first. Note that you cannot enable the Message Type menu or specify a playback order by message type for deleted messages.

Checking Deleted Messages by Using the Phone Keypad

Procedure
Step 1   Call and sign in to Connection.
Step 2   At the Main menu, select the option Review Old Messages, then Deleted Messages.
Step 3   Follow the prompts to manage a deleted message after you have listened to it.
Step 4   When Connection asks, "What do you want to do," say

Example:

When Connection asks, "What do you want to do," say


Checking Deleted Messages by Using Voice Commands

Procedure
Step 1   Call and sign in to Connection.
Step 2   When Connection asks "What do you want to do," say:

"Play deleted messages" to play all deleted messages.

Or

"Play deleted messages from <name of user>" to hear deleted voice messages from a specific Connection user.

Or

"Play deleted <voice messages/emails/receipts>" to hear deleted messages of a specific type. (Note that Connection plays emails only for users who have the text-to-speech option.)

Step 3   Follow the prompts and use the following voice commands to manage a deleted message after you have listened to it:

Action

Voice Command

Replay message

"Repeat"

Play previous message

"Previous"

Play next message

"Next"

Restore as saved

"Saved"

Delete message permanently

"Delete"

Reply to message

"Reply"

Call message sender

(Not available on some systems.)

"Call sender"

Forward message

"Forward"

Restore as new

(Not available on some systems.)

"Mark new"

Play message properties

"Message properties"