Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration Guide for Cisco Unity Connection Release 8.x
System Restart
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 84.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 1.09MB) | Feedback

System Restart

Table Of Contents

System Restart

Switch Versions and Restart

Restart Current Version

Shut Down the System


System Restart


This section provides procedures for using the following restart options:

Switch Versions and Restart

Restart Current Version

Shut Down the System

Switch Versions and Restart

You can use this option both when you are upgrading to a newer software version and when you need to fall back to an earlier software version. To shut down the system that is running on the active disk partition and then automatically restart the system by using the software version on the inactive partition, follow this procedure:


Caution This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.

Procedure


Step 1 From the Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration window, navigate to Settings > Version.

The Version Settings window, which shows the software version on both the active and inactive partitions, displays.

Step 2 To switch versions and restart, click Switch Versions. To stop the operation, click Cancel.

If you click Switch Version, the system restarts, and the partition that is currently inactive becomes active.


Restart Current Version

To restart the system on the current partition without switching versions, follow this procedure:


Caution This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.

Procedure


Step 1 From the Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration window, navigate to Settings > Version.

The Version Settings window, which shows the software version on both the active and inactive partitions, displays.

Step 2 To restart the system, click Restart or, to stop the operation, click Cancel.

If you click Restart, the system restarts on the current partition without switching versions.


Shut Down the System


Caution Do not press the power button on the server to shut down the server or to reboot the server. If you do, you may accidentally corrupt the file system, which may prevent you from being able to reboot your server.

To shut down the system, follow Procedure 1 or Procedure 2.


Caution This procedure causes the system to shut down.

Procedure 1


Step 1 From the Cisco Unified Communications Operating System Administration window, navigate to Settings > Version.

The Version Settings window, which shows the software version on both the active and inactive partitions, displays.

Step 2 To shut down the system, click Shutdown or, to stop the operation, click Cancel.

If you click Shutdown, the system halts all processes and shuts down.


Note The hardware may require several minutes to power down.



Procedure 2 (Alternative to Procedure 1)


Step 1 Run the CLI command utils system shutdown or the command utils system restart. For information on how to run CLI commands, refer to the Command Line Interface Reference Guide for Cisco Unifed Communications Solutions.