User Moves, Adds, and Changes Guide for Cisco Unity Connection Release 7.x
Modifying or Deleting Individual User Accounts
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 100.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 4.06MB) | Feedback

Modifying or Deleting Individual User Accounts

Table Of Contents

Modifying or Deleting Individual User Accounts

Modifying Individual User Accounts

Deleting Individual User Accounts


Modifying or Deleting Individual User Accounts


After a Cisco Unity Connection user account has been created, you may need to adjust settings (for example, to reset a user password, or to set up new notification devices for the user), or to delete the account.

See the following sections:

Modifying Individual User Accounts

Deleting Individual User Accounts

Modifying Individual User Accounts

Revised May 2009

You modify settings for an individual user account from the pages available on the Edit menu in Cisco Unity Connection Administration.

Note that if you change the alias for a user, Connection automatically creates an SMTP proxy address for the previous alias. This allows other Connection users to reply to messages that were sent from the previous alias and have the replies reach the user at the new alias. When Connection is integrated with an LDAP directory, the Alias field in Connection cannot be changed for any user who is integrated with an LDAP user. However, if you are using Active Directory as the LDAP directory, you can change the value of the LDAP field that is mapped to the Alias field, and the change is replicated to Connection the next time the Connection database is synchronized with the LDAP directory. This also causes Connection to automatically create an SMTP proxy address for the previous alias.


Caution If you are using an LDAP directory other than Active Directory and you change the value of the LDAP field that is mapped to the Connection Alias field, the Connection user will be converted to a non-LDAP-integrated user.

In the following configurations, you cannot edit fields such as Alias (User ID in Cisco Unified Communications Manager Administration), First Name, Last Name, Extension (Primary Extension in Cisco Unified CM Administration), and so on:

In Cisco Unified Communications Manager Business Edition, when the Connection user is integrated with the Cisco Unified Communications Manager Application User. You can only update these fields in Cisco Unified CM Administration.

In Connection or in Cisco Unified CMBE, when Connection user data is synchronized with data in an LDAP directory. You can only update these fields in the LDAP directory.


Note If Connection is configured to authenticate Connection web application user names and passwords against the LDAP directory, you cannot change the Connection web application password.


In Connection, if Digital Networking is configured, you cannot edit any fields for a user on servers other than the home server of the user. You must edit user settings on the server on which the user account was created.

For information on moving mailboxes from one mailbox store to another, see the "Managing Mailbox Stores" chapter of the System Administration Guide for Cisco Unity Connection.

Do the following procedure to modify user account settings.

To Modify a User Account


Step 1 In Cisco Unity Connection Administration, click Users.

Step 2 On the Search Users page, click the alias of the user account that you want to modify.


Note If the user does not appear in the search results table, set the applicable parameters in the search fields at the top of the page, and click Find.


Step 3 On the Edit User Basics page, change the applicable settings. When you have finished, click Save.

Step 4 On the Edit menu, click the applicable page to continue modifying settings for the user account. If you change any of the settings on these pages, click Save before leaving the page.

For details on the features and functionality available on the Edit menu pages for a user account, see the "Setting Up Features and Functionality That Are Controlled by User Account Settings" chapter.


Deleting Individual User Accounts

Revised May 2009

Note In Cisco Unified Communications Manager Business Edition (CMBE), you delete Cisco Unity Connection user accounts in Cisco Unified CM Administration. (Use the applicable User Management page to find the user or application user, then delete.)

To learn more about deleting Connection accounts in Cisco Unified CM Administration, see the online Help or the "End User Configuration" and "Application User Configuration" chapters of the applicable Cisco Unified Communications Manager Administration Guide. The guide is available at http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps7273/prod_maintenance_guides_list.html.


When a user leaves the organization or otherwise no longer needs a Cisco Unity Connection account, delete the account in Cisco Unity Connection Administration.

Note the following considerations for deleting an account:

If a user account is referenced by other objects in Connection (for example, if the user is set to be a recipient of messages left in an interview handler, or if a call handler is set to transfer incoming calls to the user phone), you are not allowed to delete the user account until you have changed settings on the other objects to remove references to the user account you want to delete. If you try to delete a user account without first changing settings on objects that reference the user account, the delete operation fails.

An administrator is prohibited from deleting his or her own account.

When you delete the account of a user with a voice mailbox, that user is automatically deleted from the All Voice Mail Users distribution list.

If the account for a user has a voice mailbox, and if the mailbox store for that voice mailbox is disabled (for example, because the mailbox store is being backed up), the user account cannot be deleted.

The behavior is different when Connection or Cisco Unified CMBE is integrated with an LDAP directory:

If Connection is integrated with an LDAP directory, you must delete the user both in the LDAP directory and in Connection. If you delete the user only in Connection, the LDAP user is unaffected. If you delete the user only in the LDAP directory, in Connection Administration, the Status area on the Edit User Basics page for that user indicates that the Connection user is inactive. The status cannot be changed manually, but after 48 hours, the user is automatically converted to a regular Connection user, and the message in the Status area no longer appears.

Connection functionality is mostly unaffected by the deletion of an LDAP user. However, if you use LDAP authentication for Connection web applications or for IMAP access to Connection voice messages, the user cannot access Connection web applications for the 48 hours after the LDAP user is deleted and before the Connection user is converted to a regular Connection user. After 48 hours, you must enter a new web application password for the user in Connection Administration.

If Cisco Unified CMBE is integrated with an LDAP directory, you must start by deleting the LDAP user that corresponds with the Connection user. When Cisco Unified CM data is next synchronized with the LDAP directory, the user is deleted from the Cisco Unified CM database. When the user no longer appears in Cisco Unified CM Administration, you can use Connection Administration to delete the user from the Connection database.


Note If LDAP synchronization is not enabled and if you do not manually synchronize Cisco Unified CM data with the LDAP directory, the deletion of an LDAP user is never replicated to the Cisco Unified CM database, and the corresponding Connection user cannot be deleted.


To Delete an Individual User Account in Cisco Unity Connection Administration


Step 1 In Cisco Unity Connection Administration, click Users.

Step 2 On the Search Users page, click the alias of the user account that you want to delete.


Note If the user does not appear in the search results table, set the applicable parameters in the search fields at the top of the page, and click Find.


Step 3 Click Delete Selected.

Step 4 In the dialog box that opens, asking you to confirm the deletion, click OK.