User Guide for the Cisco Unity Connection Phone Interface (Release 7.x)
Managing Deleted Messages
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 85.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 2.76MB) | Feedback

Managing Deleted Messages

Table Of Contents

Managing Deleted Messages

About Deleted Messages

Permanently Deleting Deleted Messages

Checking Deleted Messages


Managing Deleted Messages


About Deleted Messages

Permanently Deleting Deleted Messages

Checking Deleted Messages

About Deleted Messages

Cisco Unity Connection saves your deleted messages; you can play, restore, or permanently delete them.

Permanently Deleting Deleted Messages

Deleting messages can be an important way to reduce the size of your mailbox, especially when Cisco Unity Connection is not set up to automatically delete messages once they reach a certain age.

Ask your Connection administrator if the system is set up to enforce a message-retention policy. Connection does not indicate when a message-retention policy is enforced, nor does it warn you before messages are permanently deleted as a result of such a policy. If Connection is not set up to do so, make sure that you permanently delete messages periodically. (For information on what to do if your mailbox exceeds its size limits, see the "Managing the Size of Your Mailbox" chapter.)

This section contains two procedures. Do the applicable procedure, depending on whether you are using the phone keypad or voice commands.

To Permanently Delete Messages by Using the Phone Keypad


Step 1 Call and log on to Connection.

Step 2 At the Main menu, choose the options Review Old Messages > Deleted Messages.

Step 3 Follow the prompts to review your deleted messages and delete them individually, or to delete all messages at once.


To Permanently Delete Messages by Using Voice Commands


Step 1 Call and log on to Connection.

Step 2 When Connection asks what you want to do, say:

"Empty Deleted Items folder" to permanently delete all deleted messages. Say "Yes" when Connection prompts you to confirm the action.

Or

"Play deleted messages" to permanently delete messages one by one. After you have listened to a message, say "Delete" to permanently delete it. To skip to the next message without deleting the current message, say "Next".


Checking Deleted Messages

You can play your deleted messages, just as you can play new and saved messages. You can also restore a deleted message as a new or saved message.

By default, the most recent messages are played first. Note that you cannot enable the Message Type menu or specify a playback order by message type for deleted messages.

This section contains two procedures. Do the applicable procedure, depending whether you are using the phone keypad or voice commands.

To Check Deleted Messages by Using the Phone Keypad


Step 1 Call and log on to Connection.

Step 2 At the Main menu, choose the options Review Old Messages > Deleted Messages.

Step 3 Follow the prompts to manage a deleted message after you have listened to it.


To Check Deleted Messages by Using Voice Commands


Step 1 Call and log on to Connection.

Step 2 When Connection asks what you want to do, say:

"Play deleted messages" to play all deleted messages.

Or

"Play deleted messages from <username>" to hear deleted voice messages from a specific Connection user.

Or

"Play deleted <voice messages/e-mails/receipts>" to hear deleted messages of a specific type. (Note that Connection plays e-mails only for users who have the text-to-speech option.)

Step 3 Follow the prompts and use the following voice commands to manage a deleted message after you have listened to it:

Action
Voice Command

Replay message

"Repeat"

Play previous message

"Previous"

Play next message

"Next"

Restore as saved

"Save"

Delete message permanently

"Delete"

Reply to message

"Reply"

Call sender1

"Call sender"

Forward message

"Forward"

Restore as new1

"Mark new"

Play message properties

"Message properties"

1 Not available on some systems.