Upgrade Guide for Cisco Unity Connection Release 7.x
Reverting Servers to the Cisco Unity Connection Version on the Inactive Partition
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 92.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 2.41MB) | Feedback

Reverting Servers to the Cisco Unity Connection Version on the Inactive Partition

Table Of Contents

Reverting Servers to the Cisco Unity Connection Version on the Inactive Partition

About Reverting to the Connection Version on the Inactive Partition

Reverting the Servers in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

Reverting a Connection Server, or the Publisher Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

Reverting the Subscriber Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

Resetting Database Replication in a Connection Cluster After Reverting the Servers to the Version on the Inactive Partition


Reverting Servers to the Cisco Unity Connection Version on the Inactive Partition


This chapter contains the following sections:

About Reverting to the Connection Version on the Inactive Partition

Reverting the Servers in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

Reverting a Connection Server, or the Publisher Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

Reverting the Subscriber Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

Resetting Database Replication in a Connection Cluster After Reverting the Servers to the Version on the Inactive Partition

About Reverting to the Connection Version on the Inactive Partition

Added May 2009

After upgrading, you can revert to the software version that was running before the upgrade by switching to the software version on the inactive partition.


Caution If you revert to the version on the inactive partition, you cannot later switch to the newest version. Instead, you must reinstall the upgrade as documented in this guide.


Caution Do not revert to the version on the inactive partition during regular business hours unless doing so is necessary. Reverting causes the Connection server to restart, and Connection will not function for about 15 minutes, until the restart completes.

Note the following effects on data and messages of reverting to the version on the inactive partition:

Users that were added after you upgraded to the new version will no longer exist after you revert to the version on the inactive partition. You will have to add the new users again.

All messages are preserved. However, users that were added after the upgrade no longer exist, so their messages are orphaned. These messages are moved to the undeliverable messages folder.

If you moved mailboxes from one mailbox store to another after upgrading, those mailboxes will be moved back to the mailbox stores they were in before the upgrade.

If the version on the inactive partition does not support dispatch messages (any version earlier than Connection 7.0(1) ), dispatch messages in the new version of Connection are converted to standard messages in the older version. The subject line still includes "DISPATCH." (Dispatch messages are messages sent to a distribution list, either from a call handler or from an interview handler, that only one user in the group needs to act on. For more information, see the "Dispatch Messages" section in the "Messaging" chapter of the System Administration Guide for Cisco Unity Connection Release 7.x at http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/connection/7x/administration/guide/7xcucsagx.html.)

If you revert to Connection 2.x, which does not support future-delivery messages, messages that are queued for future delivery are not deleted from the hard disk, but they will not be delivered, and the sender cannot access them.

Reverting the Servers in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

1. Revert the publisher server. See the "Reverting a Connection Server, or the Publisher Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition" section.

2. Revert the subscriber server. See the "Reverting the Subscriber Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition" section.

3. Reset database replication within the cluster. See the "Resetting Database Replication in a Connection Cluster After Reverting the Servers to the Version on the Inactive Partition" section.

Reverting a Connection Server, or the Publisher Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

To Revert a Connection Server, or the Publisher Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition


Step 1 Log on to Cisco Unified Operating System Administration.

Step 2 From the Settings menu, click Version.

The Version Settings window displays.

Step 3 Click the Switch Versions button.

After you confirm that you want to restart the system, the system restarts, which might take up to 15 minutes.

Step 4 Confirm that the version switch was successful:

a. Log on to Cisco Unified Operating System Administration.

b. From the Settings menu, click Version. The Version Settings window displays.

c. Confirm that the correct product version is now running on the active partition.

d. Confirm that all activated services are running.

e. Log on to Cisco Unity Connection Administration.

f. Confirm that the configuration data exists.


Reverting the Subscriber Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition

To Revert the Subscriber Server in a Connection Cluster to the Version on the Inactive Partition


Step 1 Log on to Cisco Unified Operating System Administration.

Step 2 From the Settings menu, click Version. The Version Settings window displays.

Step 3 Click the Switch Versions button.

After you confirm that you want to restart the system, the system restarts, which might take up to 15 minutes.

Step 4 Confirm that the version switch was successful:

a. Log on to Cisco Unified Operating System Administration on the subscriber server.

b. From the Settings menu, click Version. The Version Settings window displays.

c. Confirm that the correct version is now running on the active partition.

d. Confirm that all activated services are running.


Resetting Database Replication in a Connection Cluster After Reverting the Servers to the Version on the Inactive Partition

After you revert the servers in a cluster to the version on the inactive partition, you must manually reset database replication within the cluster.

To Reset Database Replication in a Connection Cluster After Reverting the Servers to the Version on the Inactive Partition


On the publisher server, run the CLI command utils dbreplication reset all.