Guest

Cisco TelePresence MCU 4200 Series

Downgrading a Cisco/Tandberg/Codian video conferencing product

How do I downgrade my Cisco/TANDBERG/Codian video conferencing product?

This article describes how to downgrade the software running on a device to an earlier version. As the method differs depending on the device, it is important that you follow the process below which corresponds to the device to be downgraded.


Important! In all cases we recommend that whenever possible the latest available software version is installed. Additionally, for the following devices we support downgrading only to the following software versions (downgrading to earlier versions is not supported):

  • Cisco TelePresence Server version 2.2 or later
  • Cisco TelePresence MCU version 4.0 or later
  • Cisco TelePresence ISDN gateway version 2.0 or later
  • Cisco TelePresence Supervisor version 2.0 or later

Downgrade process for the Cisco TelePresence Server, MCU, Supervisor, or ISDN gateway

To downgrade the software on one of these devices, simply follow the Downgrade instructions section of the appropriate software release notes on Cisco.com (the release notes for the version from which you are downgrading). You can download release notes from the following Cisco.com locations:

Device Location
TelePresence Server http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps11339/prod_release_notes_list.html
MCU 5300 http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps12283/prod_release_notes_list.html
MCU 4500 http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps11341/prod_release_notes_list.html
MCU 4200 / MSE 8420 http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps11342/prod_release_notes_list.html
ISDN gateway (P) http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps11448/prod_release_notes_list.html
ISDN gateway (N) http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps12063/prod_release_notes_list.html
Supervisor http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps11340/prod_release_notes_list.html

Downgrade process for the Cisco TelePresence IP VCR or IP gateway

  1. Before you downgrade the software on one of these devices, we recommend that you restore the device configuration (configuration.xml file) to the earlier configuration that existed when the downgrade software version was previously running. That is, use the backup configuration file that was saved before the device was upgraded from the desired downgrade version. If you do not have the appropriate backup to restore, you may experience unexpected results after the downgrade due to changes in security handling across some versions. To restore the device configuration, follow the instructions in Step 1: Restoring the configuration below.
  2. To downgrade the software, follow the instructions in Step 2: Downgrading the software below.

Step 1: Restoring the configuration

  1. Go to the Upgrade page (Settings > Upgrade).
  2. In the Restore configuration area, navigate to and select the appropriate configuration.xml backup file. You must have the associated administrator user name and password for the file.
  3. Check the User settings checkbox.
    In this context, user settings include the Advanced account security mode and Idle web session timeout security options (Settings > Security page) if they are configurable for the device.
  4. If required, check the Network settings checkbox.
    In this context, network settings includes the Redirect HTTP requests to HTTPS security option (Settings > Security page) if it is configurable for the device.
  5. Click Restore backup file and wait for the configuration restore to finish.
    Go on to Step 2: Downgrading the software.

Step 2: Downgrading the software


CAUTION: If you use Call Detail Records, audit logs, or any other logs for billing, auditing or other purposes, you must download and save all logged data before you start the download (see the online help for assistance). Failure to do so may result in data loss.

Prerequisites
  • The software downgrade process requires a hardware restart and can take up to 25 minutes to complete. Schedule a downtime window and notify users as necessary.
  • Have the following items available before you start:
    • The image file for the required software version (available by download from Cisco.com).
    • Back ups of any Call Detail Records, audit logs, or other log files that you use.
    • Administrative access to all devices to be downgraded.
    • Model numbers and serial numbers of all devices to be downgraded, in case you need to contact Cisco Technical Support.
Using the web interface
  1. Unzip the image file locally.
  2. In a web browser, navigate to the web interface of the device.
  3. Sign in as an administrator.
  4. Go to the Upgrade page (Settings > Upgrade).
  5. In the Main software image section of the Upgrade page, browse to and select the software image file.
  6. Click Upload software image.
    The web browser uploads the file to the device, which may take a few minutes. Do not browse away from the Upgrade page or refresh the page during the upload process, as this will cause the upload to fail. A pop-up window shows the upload progress.
  7. When the upload completes, close the pop-up window.
    The web browser refreshes automatically and displays the message 'Main image upload completed'.
  8. Click Shut down (product). The option changes to Confirm (product) shutdown. Click to confirm.
  9. Click Restart (product) and upgrade.
    The device will reboot and upgrade itself. This can take up to 25 minutes.
    You may be logged out due to inactivity. If this happens, log in again, go to Settings > Shutdown and click Restart (product) and upgrade
  10. When the device restarts, go to the Status page to verify that the device is now using the required software version.
  11. The downgrade process is now complete.
Using FTP (not recommended)

Using FTP to downgrade is not recommended and we advise you to use the web interface instead (see above).

  1. Check the device supports FTP and that the FTP service is enabled on the Network > Services page.
  2. Unzip the image file locally.
  3. Connect to the product using an FTP client.
  4. Log in as an administrator (use the administrator credentials you would use to connect to the web interface).
  5. Upload the image file to the root.
  6. Reboot the hardware after the upload (you can reboot from the Upgrade page on the web interface).
    The device upgrades itself as it restarts.
  7. Log in to the web interface and go to the Status page to verify that the device is now using the required software version.
  8. The downgrade process is now complete.

This article applies to the following products:

  • Cisco TelePresence Servers
  • Cisco TelePresence IP GW 3500 / MSE IPGW blade
  • Cisco TelePresence IP VCR 2200 / MSE VCR blade
  • Cisco TelePresence ISDN GW 3200 and 3241 / MSE 8310 and MSE 8321 blades
  • Cisco TelePresence MCU 4200 / MSE 8420
  • Cisco TelePresence MCU 4500
  • Cisco TelePresence MCU 5300
  • Cisco TelePresence MSE 8050 Supervisor

Mar 13th, 2013 TAA_KB_578