User Guide for Cisco Unified Operations Manager 2.0.1
Managing Views
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 80.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 8.75MB) | Feedback

Managing Views

Table Of Contents

Managing Views

Getting Started with Views

Creating a View

Activating and Deactivating a View

Editing a View

Deleting a View


Managing Views


These topics explain how to work with views in the Monitoring Dashboard displays:

Getting Started with Views

Creating a View

Activating and Deactivating a View

Editing a View

Deleting a View

Getting Started with Views

Views are logical groupings of devices that appear in the Monitoring Dashboard displays (Service Level View, Alerts and Events, Phone Activities, and Service Quality Alerts). Whenever you create a new User Defined Group in the Group Administration and Configuration page (see Using Group Administration and Configuration), a corresponding view is created.

Once you decide how you want to cluster your devices into a logical set, create and activate a view of these groups so they are shown in the Monitoring Dashboard displays. View elements are not shown until the view is activated and is displayed in the view pane (normally every two minutes).

The Monitoring Dashboard displays can have a maximum of 18 active views.

By default, the Alerts and Events, Phone Activities, and Service Quality Alerts displays contain two default views: All Alerts and Suspended Devices. These views are static and cannot be edited, deactivated, or deleted. The Service Level View contains the All IP Telephony Devices view, which is a default view that cannot be edited, deactivated, or deleted.

Creating a View

Views are created when you create a User Defined Group. After you create a User Defined Group, a corresponding view appears in the Views page.


Step 1 Create a User Defined Group using either:

The Group Administration and Configuration page. (See Managing Groups.)

Service Level View. (See Using the Service Level View.)

Step 2 Activate the view in the View page. (See Activating and Deactivating a View.)


Activating and Deactivating a View

To include a view in one or more of the Monitoring Dashboard displays (Service Level View, Alerts and Events, Phone Activities, and Service Quality Alerts), you must first activate it. When you activate or deactivate a view, your changes are shown in the appropriate Monitoring Dashboard display when the view pane is refreshed (every two minutes). If you deactivate a view for a particular Monitoring Dashboard display, it is removed from the view once the pane is refreshed. A Monitoring Dashboard display may contain a maximum of 18 active views.


Note You cannot deactivate the All Alerts view or Suspended Devices view.



Step 1 Select Monitoring Dashboard > Manage Views. The Manage Views page appears.

Step 2 From the Manage Views page you can do the following:

Activate views by selecting the radio buttons in the views row that corresponds to the Monitoring Dashboard displays where you want the view to appear.

Deactivate views by deselecting the radio buttons in the views row that corresponds to the Monitoring Dashboard displays where you do not want the view to appear.

Step 3 Click Apply.


Editing a View

You can edit views only by changing the corresponding User Defined Group. Once the User Defined Group is edited, the corresponding view will be updated when the view pane is refreshed (normally every two minutes).

You can delete User Defined Groups in the Group Administration and Configuration page. (See Creating and Editing Groups.)

Deleting a View

You can delete views only by deleting the corresponding User Defined Group. Once the User Defined Group is deleted, the corresponding view will be deleted when the view pane is refreshed (normally every two minutes).

You can delete User Defined Groups in the Group Administration and Configuration page. (See Deleting Groups.)