Cisco WebEx Social Administration Guide, Release 3.3
Sending Manual Announcements and Alerts
Downloads: This chapterpdf (PDF - 90.0KB) The complete bookPDF (PDF - 2.19MB) | Feedback

Sending Manual Announcements and Alerts

Table Of Contents

Sending Manual Announcements and Alerts

Adding the Announcements or Alerts Application

Creating an Announcement or an Alert

Revoking an Announcement or an Alert

Editing an Announcement or an Alert

Managing Announcements and Alerts


Sending Manual Announcements and Alerts


As system administrator, you can send announcements and alerts about Cisco WebEx Social that pertain to all users or to users that you choose. Announcements and alerts appear in the navigation bar of a user as a number of unread notifications. Clicking the number reveals their content.

Announcements and alerts are similar. The only difference is that they appear with a different icon in the user notifications. Alerts, which appear with an exclamation mark icon, are intended to be used for major events such as planned downtime, organization events that require timely user action, and so on. Announcements are designed for less pressing matters and appear with a megaphone icon. Two types of notifications allows you to more easily track past events and to separate more important notifications from less important ones.


Note In addition to announcements and alerts you can send manually, Cisco WebEx Social creates automatic notifications for events such as an incentive for new users to fill in their profile, community membership invites, and so on.


This appendix contains the following topics:

Adding the Announcements or Alerts Application

Creating an Announcement or an Alert

Revoking an Announcement or an Alert

Editing an Announcement or an Alert

Managing Announcements and Alerts

Adding the Announcements or Alerts Application

You need to add an application or applications before you can start sending announcements or alerts. Only users who are granted the appropriate permissions can add those applications. By default these permissions are:

Administrator role—Can add the applications to their personal Cisco WebEx Social pages

Community Owner and Community Administrator roles—Can add the applications to their respective community pages

To add the Announcements or Alerts application, follow these steps:

Procedure


Step 1 Sign in to Cisco WebEx Social using a user who has the Administrator role, Community Owner role, or the Community Administrator role.

Step 2 Go to a personal or a community page of your choice.

Step 3 Click Add Application in the navigation bar.

Step 4 Hover over the application, select Add, and take either of these actions:

To send announcements, select the Announcements application

To send alerts, select the Alerts application


Creating an Announcement or an Alert

To compose an announcements or an alert, follow these steps:

Procedure


Step 1 Go to the Announcements or Alerts application.

Step 2 Click the +Announcements or +Alerts button at the top of the application.

Step 3 Compose your notification and set other options as described in Table B-1:

Table B-1 Creating Announcement or Alert Options 

Field
Description

Distribute to

Select the audience to receive the notification. Choose between all users (General), communities, roles, and user groups.

Only communities that the user is a member of appear on the list.

Also send as email

Check this box if you want to send the notification as an e-mail in addition to the default global navigation bar notification. Depending on the audience, this process can put significant strain on Cisco WebEx Social and your organization e-mail infrastructure.

Title

Subject of the notification.

URL

An optional link that provides more information. The link becomes available as a View button on the notification, or as More details links in e-mail notifications.

The URL must be prefixed with a protocol specification such as http://.

Content

The notification body.

Display Date

Select when to send the notification out.

Expiration Date

Select when the notification becomes expired, which removes it from the global navigation bar of a user.


Step 4 Click Save.


Revoking an Announcement or an Alert

If you want to revoke an active announcement or alert, select it in the list in which it is located and click Delete. The notification disappears from the global navigation bar of a user and the notification item is deleted from the application.


Note If you are revoking a notification for which an e-mail has already been sent out, the e-mail recipients do not receive any automatic updates about the cancellation.


Editing an Announcement or an Alert

You can edit any announcement or alert that you created. If it has not been displayed (sent out), it goes out with the updated content. If you are editing it after its Display Date, the notification in the global navigation bar of a user updates to show the edits.


Note If you are editing a notification for which the Also send as email option has been checked, the recipients do not receive a second email with the updated content. The Also send as email option is dimmed in the Edit dialog box.


Managing Announcements and Alerts

Both the Announcements and the Alerts applications sort notifications in three sections for your convenience: Unread, Read, and History.

New announcements land in the Unread list.

By selecting Mark as Read, you can move notifications that you no longer need to monitor to the Read list. After you mark a notification as Read, you cannot move it back to the Unread list.

Moving a notification from Unread to Read does not affect how it is being displayed to the user.

Messages that have expired are moved automatically to the History list.