When a voice message is deleted, it is saved in the deleted items folder. By default, when a subscriber goes into the deleted items folder and presses the option to delete the messages, all the voicemail and email messages are deleted. If you want to disable the option to delete the emails, you can configure Cisco Unity to delete only voicemail. This document explains how to set the option to delete voicemail only.
There are no specific requirements for this document.
The information in this document is based on the Cisco Unity with Exchange version 4.0(1) and later.
The information in this document was created from the devices in a specific lab environment. All of the devices used in this document started with a cleared (default) configuration. If your network is live, make sure that you understand the potential impact of any command.
Refer to the Cisco Technical Tips Conventions for more information on document conventions.
By default, when subscribers press 3 > 2 > 2 from the Main menu to permanently delete multiple deleted messages at once, Cisco Unity allows them to choose which messages they want to delete. Subscribers can either delete their deleted voice messages or delete all of their deleted messages. As alternatives to the default, you can specify that Cisco Unity does not prompt subscribers to choose, and instead will permanently delete the type of messages you specify: either deleted voice messages or all deleted messages (voice, fax, and email, as applicable).
In order to set up either alternative, you need to change the Conversation—Set How Deleted Messages Are Deleted in Bulk setting in the Advanced Setting Tools.
Go to Cisco Unity Tools Depot > Administrative Tools > Advanced Setting Tools > Conversation - Set How Deleted Messages Are Deleted in Bulk.
You can change how Cisco Unity handles the way multiple deleted messages are deleted by adjusting the value of this key:
The name of the key is DeletedItemsClearence and it is a DWORD key.
Use these values to specify what Cisco Unity plays and what messages it deletes when subscribers delete multiple deleted messages:
Subscribers choose which messages are deleted: Cisco Unity prompts them: To delete only your voice messages. Press 1. To delete all messages press 2 (Default).
Cisco Unity does not prompt subscribers to choose which messages to delete: instead, Cisco Unity deletes all of their deleted voice messages.
Cisco Unity does not prompt subscribers to choose which messages to delete: instead, Cisco Unity deletes all of their deleted messages (voice, fax, and email messages, as applicable.)
In order to disable the option to delete emails, you need to set the registry key to 2, so that Cisco Unity will not prompt subscribers to choose which messages to delete. Instead, Cisco Unity deletes all of their deleted voice messages only.
The setting only works on Cisco Unity with Exchange version 4.0(1) and later.
The conversation change affects subscribers system-wide, regardless of their class of service (COS) settings and conversation style.
In order to customize what subscribers hear when they delete a single new, saved, or delete messages, use the applicable Conversation page for a subscriber template or an individual subscriber in the Cisco Unity Administration, or by using the Bulk Edit Utility. Or, you can use the Conversation - Confirm delete when deleting a Delete messages setting.
There is currently no verification procedure available for this configuration.
There is currently no specific troubleshooting information available for this configuration.