Guest

Cisco Unity Connection

Unity Connection Message Hunter Recalls Messages that Were Sent Accidentally

Document ID: 117733

Updated: Jun 13, 2014

Contributed by Scott Hills, Cisco TAC Engineer.

   Print

Introduction

This document describes a tool, Message Hunter, that is used in order to recall sent messages in Cisco Unity Connection. It is possible that a confidential message might be sent to the wrong people or a message might be sent before it is complete. In the past, it has been a difficult process to recall these message. Now, Message Hunter can assist with this problem.

Problem

A message has been sent to a User or Distribution List that must be recalled.

Solution

You can recall a message with a tool called Message Hunter. With this tool, you can search a user mailbox for a specific message. Then, you can find all copies of that message on other user mailboxes and delete all copies. Message Hunter also contains reporting options.

Complete these steps in order to download and use Message Hunter:

  1. Download the tool from Connection Message Hunter. You also must load the Open Database Connectivity (ODBC) driver on your PC. The download site provides details and allows download of the ODBC driver. There is a video about this download in the Related Information section.

  2. Log in to the tool with a Unity Connection account that has the Remote Administrator role.



  3. Click the server and Next in order to be able to search for the user.



  4. You can search for a user mailbox that received a copy of the message. If you have Unity Connection set to retain sent messages, then you can search for sent messages.



  5. Click Next in order to display a drop-down menu that allows you to choose All Messages, Only Inbox Messages, or Only Sent Messages.



  6. In this scenario, the search is for a user mailbox that sent the message, so choose Only Sent Messages.

    Note: In order for this option to display sent items on Unity Connection, you must navigate to Web Page > System Settings > Advanced > Messaging > Sent Messages: Retention Period (in Days) and increase the Sent Messages: Retention Period beyond 0 days before this message was sent.





  7. Multiple messages might display. Choose the message that you are interested in and click Next.

    On the next screen, a drop-down menu displays that allows you to choose which copies of messages you want deleted - All copies of the message, Only copies of message that have been seen, or Only copies of message that have not been seen.



  8. Choose All copies of message and then click Search in order to display all of the mailboxes in which the message appears.



  9. Choose Delete All in order to remove the message from all of the mailboxes that contain it.

Related Information

Refer to these videos for more in-depth information.

Updated: Jun 13, 2014
Document ID: 117733